Times Literary Supplement

The Graduate Center subscribes to Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive 1902-2008. This resource includes every issue of TLS from 1902 through 2008. In addition to searching, the database may be browsed by book title, author, book editor, translator, contributor (reviewer, essayist), and illustrator of contributions. The latest issues of TLS are available in the library . . . → Read More: Times Literary Supplement

Routledge Reference Collection

The Graduate Center has electronic access to 275 reference books published by Routledge:

Routledge Education Online include such titles as Handbook of Education Politics and Policy, Handbook of Research in the Social Foundations of Education, and The Routledge Companion to Dyslexia.

Routledge History Online includes Encyclopedia of the Ancient World, Historical Dictionary of the Elizabethan . . . → Read More: Routledge Reference Collection

LGBT Thought and Culture

The Graduate Center has a trial through July 17 to LGBT Thought and Culture, a collection of books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements. Documents range from letters, speeches, interviews, and ephemera covering the political evolution of gay rights as well as memoirs, biographies, poetry, letters and works of fiction . . . → Read More: LGBT Thought and Culture

New Databases

The Graduate Center has recently added the following resources.

American History in Video has over 1,600 hours of historical video from commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

Filmmakers Library Online includes over 1,000 documentaries about race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal . . . → Read More: New Databases

New Web of Science Databases

The Graduate Center’s subscription to Web of Science has been expanded to include the following resources.

BIOSIS Citation Index indexes life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Indexes journals, books, meetings, and patents from 1926 to present.

Book Citation Index: Science and Book Citation Index: . . . → Read More: New Web of Science Databases

New Database Trials

The Graduate Center has a trial through May 31 to Gateway to North America: People, Places,and Organizations of 19th Century New York. This resource, drawn from the collections of the New York Historical Society, offers over 1,500 residential and business directories, organization records, urban guidebooks, and similar historical documents. There are also trials through May . . . → Read More: New Database Trials

Robert Darnton & Pres. Kelly

The Friends of the Mina Rees Library welcomes Robert Darnton, founder of the Digital Public Library of America and Harvard’s Carl H. Pforzheimer University Professor and University Librarian, in conversation Monday afternoon April 29 with GC President William P. Kelly and Professor William Kornblum of Sociology and Chair of Friends of the Mina Rees Library.

. . . → Read More: Robert Darnton & Pres. Kelly

LGBT Life Trial

All of CUNY has a trial of LGBT Life through May 23. The database provides text from more than 120 lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transsexual journals, magazines, and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 books. Several other ongoing database trials will end soon.

Early European Books Online

This trial has ended.

Artists of the World Online Trial

The Graduate Center has a trial through April 27 to Artists of the World Online, offering more than 500,000 biographies of painters, graphic artists, sculptors, architects, designers, photographers, video and installation artists, artisans, and many other kinds of artists.