Churchill Archive Trial

The Graduate Center has a trial through December 21 to the Churchill Archive, a collection of more than 800,000 Winston Churchill documents, including personal letters, official correspondence, speeches, telegrams, manuscripts, and government transcripts. The advanced search option allows searching by type of document and period. The resource may also be browsed by topic, people, place, . . . → Read More: Churchill Archive Trial

Articles & Journals Webinar Video

The library provided its second webinar for the Fall 2012 semester today, Friday, Sept. 21st at 12.30 p.m.

The Journals, Articles, & Databases Demystified webinar discussed how to go from an index to full-text articles, deciphering citations to find articles, how to find journals quickly, and library services such as interlibrary loan.  There was also a Q&A.

. . . → Read More: Articles & Journals Webinar Video

New Journals in Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete, CUNY’s largest multi-disciplinary database, recently added 596 new journals in medicine, the sciences, and the social sciences. Newly available are recent issues of such titles as Annual Review & Research in Biology, Behavior Analysis in Practice, Chinese Sociological Review, Continental Journal of Biomedical Sciences, Education & Treatment of Children, Educational & Child . . . → Read More: New Journals in Academic Search Complete

Silent Film Online

The Graduate Center has a trial through October 13 to Silent Film Online, offering 251 titles, including Battleship Potemkin, The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari, The General, Intolerance, Metropolis, and Nosferatu.

Bookmark on Delicious Digg this post Recommend on Facebook share via Reddit Share with Stumblers Tumblr it Tweet about it Bookmark in Browser Tell a friend

Oxford Index

Use Oxford Index to search simultaneously all the Oxford University Press databases to which the Graduate Center subscribes: Oxford Art Online, Oxford Bibliographies Online, Oxford English Dictionary, Oxford Handbooks Online, Oxford Journals Online, Oxford Language Dictionaries Online, Oxford Music Online, Oxford Reference Online, and Oxford Scholarship Online. Because Oxford Index covers all OUP electronic products, . . . → Read More: Oxford Index

New JSTOR Content

CUNY’s JSTOR subscription now includes the JSTOR Arts & Sciences X collection, bringing the number of journal titles to 1,840. JSTOR X includes such journals as Berkeley Journal of Sociology, Environment and History, Historical Social Research, Information Systems Research, International Journal of Sociology of the Family, Journal of Health and Human Services Administration, Michigan Sociological . . . → Read More: New JSTOR Content

New Databases

As of July 2 the Graduate Center has access to several new electronic resources. The 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers represents the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media, charting the development of newspapers, the free press, and the concept of news and totaling almost one-million pages and approximately 1,270 titles. National . . . → Read More: New Databases

Database Trials

The Graduate Center has a trial through June 8 to PsycTests, a collection of descriptive summaries, full text, and relevant citations on the development and assessment of tests and measures that can be used in research and teaching. The database serves as a repository for the full text of psychological tests and measures as well . . . → Read More: Database Trials

World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean Trial

All of CUNY has a trial through June 2 to World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean, a collection of primary documents, maps, statistics, audio, and video dealing with Latin America and the Caribbean.

Bookmark on Delicious Digg this post Recommend on Facebook share via Reddit Share with Stumblers Tumblr it Tweet about it Bookmark in Browser Tell a friend

World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean Trial

All of CUNY has a trial through June 2 to World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean, a collection of primary documents, maps, statistics, audio, and video dealing with Latin America and the Caribbean.

Bookmark on Delicious Digg this post Recommend on Facebook share via Reddit Share with Stumblers Tumblr it Tweet about it Bookmark in Browser Tell a friend