EndNote: Importing Data
Back to EndNote Home
Saving Citations
Academic Search Premier
Download the Academic Search Premier filter.- Open Academic Search Premier.
- Perform your search and select pertinent results by clicking on the folder icon next to each result. They will then be added to your folder of results.
- Click on the link "folder has n items" or on the View Folder link at the top of the screen.
- Select Save to Disk.
- On the Save Manager screen, click the Bibliographic Manager tab.
- Select the option to: Citations in a format that can be uploaded to bibliographic management software
- With the text of the selected references showing, open a text editor (notepad, textedit, wordpad, word, etc) and paste the citation into a new document (Ctrl+V). Repeat the process adding all the citations you need into this document. OR From the browser's File menu, choose either Save As... save the file in TXT format.
ACM Digital Library
- Access ACM via the Library Databases page.
- Conduct your search.
- Click on the title of a desired reference.
- Choose Display Format "Endnote".
- A new window will open with the reference display. Select the reference (click and drag or Ctrl+A) and copy it (Ctrl+)C.
- Close the window.
- Open a text editor (notepad, textedit, wordpad, word, etc) and paste the citation into a new document (Ctrl+V). Repeat the process adding all the citations you need into this document. OR From the browser's File menu, choose either Save As... save the file in TXT format.
Agrigola
Download the Agricola filter.- Mark the record(s) you want to print, save, or email by clicking in the box to the left of each desired record.
- Scroll down to the Print, Save, or Email box near the bottom of the screen:
- In the Select Records portion, select the appropriate radio button to indicate which records you want: All on this page; Marked on this page; or Marked on all pages.
- From the Select Format pull-down menu, select the desired format for your results and click the grey Format for Print or Save button.
- Open a text editor (notepad, textedit, wordpad, word, etc) and paste the citation into a new document (Ctrl+V). Repeat the process adding all the citations you need into this document. OR From the browser's File menu, choose either Save As... save the file in TXT format.
American History and Life
Download the American History and Life filter.- From the database, tag and records to keep.
- On the left of the screen click on Output Options
- Check Tagged entries on the Request Entry line
- Choose Tab-Delimited Display as your Output Type
- Click on Submit.
- Open a text editor (notepad, textedit, wordpad, word, etc) and paste the citation into a new document (Ctrl+V). Repeat the process adding all the citations you need into this document. OR From the browser's File menu, choose either Save As... save the file in TXT format.
American Humanities Index
Use the same procedure and filter as Academic Search Premier.
AnthroSource
This database exports data into an Endnote import file, follow this procedure to export data and then import it into EndNote.
- Open AnthroSource and search as usual. Use the checkbox to select articles to export.
- Click on Send to Citation Mgr.
- The display will change, you should see some output options. In Format Selection make sure EndNote is selected and Direct Import should be checked.
- Click on the Download Article Citation Data button.
- A file save dialog will open. Select a folder to save the exported data. (The data will save as a file with an ENW extension).
- Open EndNote and then open your library.
- From the File menu select import.
- A file chooser will appear, browse until you find the file you just saved.
- The file name will appear in the import dialog. The other option to choose is Import Option: it should be set at Endnote Import.
- Click on the Import button. The file should import into your library.
- When you are happy with the results you may delete the saved data file.
You must now import the file into EndNote.
Applied Science and Technology Index
Use the WilsonWeb filter that is installed with Endnote. See the procedure for importing WilsonWeb data.
Art Full Text
Use the WilsonWeb filter that is installed with Endnote. See the procedure for importing WilsonWeb data.
Art Index
Use the WilsonWeb filter that is installed with Endnote. See the procedure for importing WilsonWeb data.
Biography Index
Use the WilsonWeb filter that is installed with Endnote. See the procedure for importing WilsonWeb data.
Book Review Digest Plus
Use the WilsonWeb filter that is installed with Endnote. See the procedure for importing WilsonWeb data.
CINAHL
Download the CINAHL filter. Use the same procedure as for Academic Search Premier.
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts / CSA Illumina
CSA Illumina is the common interface used by CSA databases. Although the interface is consistent the format of data exported is dependent upon the data file being searched. If you want to export records from CSA Illumina it is best to search a single database at a time, as they require different EndNote filters. You can use the Select specific databases link to select a single database. Export the data using the procedure below and then using the suitable filter import it into EndNote. Some fields, most commonly the journal title, will be imported with errors if you do not use the filter specific to the database.
The Graduate Center database using this interface are:
- Education full text from SAGE (use the ASFA (CSA) filter that is installed with EndNote)
- Eric (use the ERIC (CSA) filter that is installed with EndNote)
- Psychology full text from SAGE (use the ASFA filter that is installed with EndNote)
- Social Services Abstracts download and use this filter.
- Sociological Abstracts (use the Sociological ABS (CSA) filter that is installed with EndNote)
- Choose a single database to search (see above) and search in the usual way
- Use the checkboxes to mark the records you want to import into EndNote
- Click on Save/Email/Print
- You will see a screen with a large number of options.
- Ensure that Records = Marked and Record Format = Complete Record
- Choose appropriate File Format (PC or Mac)
- Click on Save
- Your refs will appear in a tagged format or else you will be prompted to save the text file
- Select File > Save as... It is important that you use the .txt extension
Communication and Mass Media
Use the same procedure and filter as Academic Search Premier.
CUNY+
The CUNY+ catalog can export search results as text files or emails. Neither of which are suitable to import into EndNote. Fortunately you can search CUNY+ from EndNote and import search results directly into a library. For more information about Z39.50 searching in EndNote look here.
Download the CUNY+ connection file.
- Connect by clicking Tools > Connect or the Connect icon .
- Choose the database you wish to search.
- Conduct the search using the search boxes (results are shown in EndNote format).
- Select the references to keep using the
key on your computer keyboard and clicking with your mouse. - When you have made your selections, click the “Copy All References To” button (it may say 1 Reference, 2 References, etc.).
- These references will be added to the library you select.
Current Research @ CUNY
Current Research @ CUNY does not allow data to be exported into EndNote. Fortunately the content of Current Research @ CUNY is available in Dissertation Abstracts which can export the data. Dissertation Abstracts uses the ProQuest searching interface which is shared by Ethnic News Watch and New York Times Full Text.
See the procedure for ProQuest databases for more information.
Dissertation Abstracts
This database uses the ProQuest interface.
See the procedure for ProQuest databases for more information.
Econlit
Use the filter that is installed with Endnote 8.Use the same procedure as for Academic Search Premier.
Education Full Text
Use the WilsonWeb filter that is installed with Endnote. See the procedure for importing WilsonWeb data.
ERIC (csa)
The ERIC (CSA) filter is installed with Endnote 8. Use the same procedure as for CSA Illumina.
ERIC (ebsco)
Download the ERIC filter. Use the same procedure as for Academic Search Premier.
Essay and General Literature Index
Use the WilsonWeb filter that is installed with Endnote.See the procedure for importing WilsonWeb data.
Ethnic News Watch
Download the ProQuest filter.This database uses the ProQuest interface.See the procedure for ProQuest databases for more information.
Film Literature Index
Download the Film Literature Index filter.
- Perform a search, and mark your desired references using the check box at the left.
- Click on the [Email/Save/Print].
- Click on the [Save Records].
- Some save options will appear choose EndNote Format.
- Click on the Save To Disk button.
- A save dialog box will open. Save the file as a text file.
- Import the saved file using the Film Literature Index filter..
General Science Abstracts
Use the WilsonWeb filter that is installed with Endnote. See the procedure for importing WilsonWeb data.
HighWire Press
HighWire Press is the Internet imprint of Stanford University Libraries, offers free access to over 140,000 full-text articles from scientific, medical, and psychiatric journals. HireWire cannot export citations as a text file. You must import the citations directly from the database.
Many of these journals have their own search screen interfaces. The instructions below should provide a general idea of exporting data. Experiment with the different journals most of them use a variation of the following procedure.
- Open a HireWire journal and search it as usual.
- Using the check boxes select any articles you wish to save from your results list.
- Click on the button titled Get Checked Abstracts.
- Your abstract should appear. In the right side of the screen you should see a text box reading: Download displayed citations to Citation Manager. Click on this link.
- You will be prompted to choose a bibliographic manager to open. Choose Endnote.
- EndNote should open. You will be prompted to choose a library to import to. Select the suitable library, and your citations should automatically be added to that library.
OR look for a menu like this one:
.
Click download to citation manager and then click the Go button
.Humanities Abstracts
Use the WilsonWeb filter that is installed with Endnote. See the procedure for importing WilsonWeb data.
JAMA (Journal of the American Medical Association.)
JAMA cannot export citations as a text file. You must import the citations directly from the database. Follow the procedure below. If you have any problem visit the JAMA help site at http://jama.ama-assn.org/cgi/citmgr?gca=jama;291/5/565&gca=jama;291/5/576#endnote
- Open JAMA and search as usual.
- Using the check boxes select any articles you wish to save from your results list.
- Click on the button titled Get Checked Abstracts.
- Your abstract should appear. In the right side of the screen you should see a text box reading: Download displayed citations to Citation Manager. Click on this link.
- You will be prompted to choose a bibliographic manager to open. Choose Endnote.
- EndNote should open. You will be prompted to choose a library to import to. Select the suitable library, and your citations should automatically be added to that library.
JSTOR
The JSTOR filter is installed with Endnote.
- Search JSTOR and choose Save Citation for any references that you wish to download. (see the sample citation below).
- When you have finished searching, choose View Saved Citations.
- Click on the Export button, next to 'Export citations as a text file and in citation manager'.
- Choose Save.
- Save the file to a convenient location. The default filename is called citations.txt.
- Click on Close at the prompt.
- Open EndNote and your chosen EndNote Library, then import the file.
The Meaning of Babylonian Bittu
H. F. Lutz
Journal of the American Oriental Society > Vol. 42 (1922), pp. 206-207
Stable URL: Citation | Page of First Match | Print| Download | Save Citation
To save your Saved Citation List to a local file, select “citation-manager” format from the top or bottom of the Saved Citations List, then choose “Export.” (If you prefer, you can also email your saved citations to yourself for future use.) A window will open, asking you where you would like to save your JSTOR citations. Make a note of the location and filename you choose because you will have to refer to this file later, during the import process.
Library Literature & Information Sciences
Use the WilsonWeb filter that is installed with Endnote.See the procedure for importing WilsonWeb data.
MasterFile Premier
Download the MasterFILE filter.Use the same procedure as for Academic Search Premier.
Medline
The Medline filter is installed with Endnote 8.Use the same procedure as for Academic Search Premier.
Military and Government Collection
Use the filter for Academic Search Premier.Use the same procedure as for Academic Search Premier.
New York Times - Full Text
This database uses the ProQuest interface.
See the procedure for ProQuest databases for more information.
Project Muse
Project Muse can import records directly into an EndNote library. This procedure may not work depending upon the security settings in effect on your computer. In general the stricter the settings the less likely your chance of success.
- Mark required records using the checkboxes.
- When you have finished selecting records click on the Save Marked Results button.
- Click on the Email/Export Saved Results button, located at the top of the screen
- On the next screen you will see a number of export options. Ensure EndNote is selected, then click on the Export button.
- EndNote will automatically open on your computer. If a Default Library has been set up within EndNote this will open and the records imported directly into it. If there is no default library set, the Open Library window will appear. Select a Library - records will then be imported.
ProQuest Databases
ProQuest is a database vendor we use for a number of our subscriptions. Current Research @ CUNY, Dissertation Abstracts, Ethnic News Watch and the New York Times Full text databases are all provided by ProQuest. ProQuest provides a common searching interface which is shared by Ethnic News Watch and New York Times Full Text. (Current Research @ CUNY has it's own interface, but can be searched through the ProQuest interface as well. To choose a specific database use the drop down menu on the search screen. The content of Current Research @ CUNY can be found in Interdisciplinary - Dissertations and Theses Abstract.)

You can export records directly from most ProQuest databases to EndNote or else save results as a text file and import them later.
Direct importing
- Perform a search, and mark your desired references by checking box at the left.
- Click on the "Marked List" tab or the "View marked articles" link.
- Click on the Documents and Bibliography tab.
- Click on "Export citations into EndNote, Procite, RefWorks or Reference Manager."
- EndNote will be invoked and the Open an EndNote Library dialog box will open.
- Select the EndNote Library to which the citations will be downloaded and click on Open.
- You will be prompted to choose an EndNote Filter. Download and use the ProQuest filter.The citations will be automatically downloaded into the EndNote Library.
Save results as a text file
- Perform a search, and mark your desired references by checking box at the left.
- Click on the "Marked List" tab or the "View marked articles" link.
- Click on the Documents and Bibliography tab.
- Click on Export citations into EndNote, Procite, RefWorks or Reference Manager.
- Click on Download in a format compatible with ProCite, EndNote, Reference Manager and RefWorks. Click Save As on the browser's File menu, and save as text file.
- Your refs will appear in a tagged format or else you will be prompted to save the text file.
- Select File > Save as... It is important that you use the .txt extension
- Import the text file using the ProQuest filter.
PsychInfo
The PsychInfo filter is installed with Endnote.Use the same procedure as for Academic Search Premier.
Readers Guide Abstracts / Readers Guide Abstracts Retrospective
Use the WilsonWeb filter that is installed with Endnote. See the procedure for importing WilsonWeb data.
SAGE Education Collection / SAGE Psychology Collection
Use the ASFA (CSA) filter installed with EndNote. See the procedure for importing from CSA Illumina Databases.
Social Science Abstracts
Use the WilsonWeb filter that is installed with Endnote. See the procedure for importing WilsonWeb data.
SciFinder Scholar
Download the SciFinder filter.
- Search in SciFinder Scholar as usual
- View your results and check any records you want to save.
- Click on the Save As button or else choose File > Save As.
- You must select Tagged format from the Save dialog. If you save the results in another text format they will up upload .
- Save the results as a text file with the extension TXT.
- Open your EndNote library and import the file.
- Exporting from ISI into Endnote
- Search the database and then mark any desired citations
- Click on Submit Marks button.
- Click on Marked List button to view only marked items
- Check off additional information you would like included with the basic citation. Do not select cited references as this will cause a very large, long download that will results in the reference lists from your marked articles to be loaded into the notes field.
- Click Export to Reference Software button.
- A dialog box will open asking you if you want to open the file using ciwfile. Click on OK.
- EndNote will open, and allow you to select the library to which you wish to import the citations.
- Saving your results in a text file
- Search the database and mark your citations
- Click on Submit Marks button.
- Click on Marked List button to view only marked items
- Check off additional information you would like included with the basic citation. Do not select cited references as this will cause a very large, long download that will results in the reference lists from your marked articles to be loaded into the notes field. In Section Two choose Field Tagged in the save to file dropdown menu.
- Click the Save to File button.
- A save file dialog should appear, save the file in .txt format.
- Open Wilson Web, select the databases to search and check the citations you wish to save.
- Click on the Print Email Save button. You should see a screen of options.
- Choose the following option in each section
- Records: choose The X records in your marked set
- Fields: choose Full/Custom
- Format: choose Plain Text
- Include: include Record numbers This is critical. If the record number is not included only the first citation will be imported, and it will be incorrect.
- Click Save and the references will redisplay in a new window.
- Save the file as a text file (*.txt).
- Open WorldCat, search and check the citations you wish to save.
- Click on the Export button. You should see a screen of options.
- Choose the following option in each section
- Export: choose Marked records from this search
- Export To: choose Text File (Do not choose EndNote)
- Click on the Export button and a save dialog will appear.
- Save the file as a text file (*.txt).
- Exporting from World Shakespeare Bibliography into Endnote
- Search the database and then open any desired citations from the results list.
- A window will open displaying the record, click on the Save Entry to List button. You will see a confirmation message appear. Continue this process until you have added all the relevant citations.
- On the left side of the screen are the search and save options. To view and save entries click on the text:
- A new window will open. Click on Direct Export to EndNote button.
- EndNote will open, and allow you to select the library to which you wish to import the citations.
- Saving your results in a text file
- Search the database and then open any desired citations from the results list.
- A window will open displaying the record, click on the Save Entry to List button. You will see a confirmation message appear. Continue this process until you have added all the relevant citations.
- On the left side of the screen are the search and save options. To view and save entries click on the text:
- A new window will open. Click on View Printable List button.
- The listed citations will appear in a browser windows. Open a text editor (notepad, textedit, wordpad, word, etc) and paste the citation into a new document (Ctrl+V). Repeat the process adding all the citations you need into this document. OR From the browser's File menu, choose either Save As... save the file in TXT format.
Social Services Abstracts
Download the Social services filter.See the procedure for importing from CSA Illumina Databases.
Sociological Absracts
Use the Sociological ABS (CSA) filter installed with EndNote. See the procedure for importing from CSA Illumina Databases.
Web of Knowedge
Use the ISI Web of Science filter that is installed with Endnote.
You have two options for using ISI data in EndNote. You can export data directly to your library or save the results as a text file and import them into EndNote.
Wilson Web Databases
Wilson Web is a common search interface for all of the Wilson databases the Graduate Center subscribes to. You may search any combination of Wilson databases at the same time. Fortunately for EndNote users all the databases export data in the same format. There is only one filter required for importing Wilson data and it is installed by default with EndNote. Note that pop up blocker may interfere with the export of the text file. Be sure to allow the Wilson web site on your popup blocker.
WorldCat
The WorldCat filterCat OCLC filter is installed with EndNote.
WorldCat has two options for exporting data to EndNote. The direct export method should directly import the citations into an EndNote library, but this method is not reliable. Security software and firewalls often interfere.
The text export method is much more reliable.
World Shakepeare Bibliography
Download the World Shakespeare Bibliography filter.
You have two options for using World Shakespeare Bibliography data in EndNote. You can export data directly to your library or save the results as a text file and import them into EndNote. Note that either option will require you to install the correct filter.
To view saved entries,
click here
To view saved entries,
click here

