Database Descriptions
Academic Search Premier
CUNY's primary all-discipline full-text database. Provides full text of 4,655 journals and magazines (3,604 peer reviewed) and indexing/abstracting for an additional 3,647 titles. Many publishers have placed three-month-to-one-year embargoes on the current issues of their journals. A list of all indexed titles, including embargo dates, is available, as is a list of full-text titles and a subject guide. The library's guide to the database is also available.
ACLS Humanities E-Book Project
Over 1,500 titles from 250 publishers selected by the American Council of Learned Societies for their lasting research value in the humanities. A title list is available.
ACM Digital Library
Provides the full-text of Association for Computing Machinery periodicals and proceedings since 1985.
AGRICOLA
Citations to literature created by the National Library of Agriculture and similar institutions. Drawn from 1,400 international journals. Covers materials in all formats, including printed works from the fifteenth century. Useful for researchers in biology and environmental science.
America: History and Life
Provides abstracts of articles and reviews from over 1,700 journals published since 1954. A list of the titles indexed is available, as well as a guide to the database.
American Chemical Society Journals
Full text of 31 ACS journals from their first issues to the present.
American Mathematical Society Journals
Full text of 7 AMS journals.
Annual Reviews
Full text of 38 Annual Reviews in the social sciences, biomedical sciences, and physical sciences from 1996 to the present. Earlier years of the Annual Reviews of Anthropology, Ecology and Systematics, and Sociology are available from JSTOR. Earlier years of the Annual Reviews of Genetics and Psychology are available from Academic Search Premier.
Anthropological Index Online
AIO indexes current periodicals in the British Museum's Anthropology Library from 1957 to the present.
AnthroSource
Archive of all American Anthropological Association journals through 2003 and current issues of eleven journals. Click here for a list of available journals.
AP Images
Electronic library containing the Associated Press's current year's photo report and a selection of images from its negative and print library dating from the sixteenth century. The Archive contains 700,000 photos, most of which are contemporary images made since late 1995.
Applied Science Index
Indexes 350 international and English-language periodicals in mathematics, physics, computer technology, and engineering from October 1983 to the present. Searchable in English, French, and Spanish. A guide to Wilson Web databases is available.
ARBA Online
Over 12,000 reviews of reference works and Web sites in more than 400 subjects from 1997 to the present.
Aristotle Bibliography
Bibliography of 36,000 articles, 7,000 books, and 2,000 dissertations from 1900 to the present.
Art Full Text
The full-text version of Art Index indexes 410 journals, providing the full text of many beginning with 1997. In addition to art history and architecture titles, many film journals are included. A list of available titles can be generated by going here and selecting Journal Directory. A guide to the database is available.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Part of Web of Science, this database finds bibliographic citations, abstracts, cited references, and the number of times cited for articles from 1,144 international journals in the arts and humanities since 1975 as well as relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journal. Approximately 2,300 new records containing 15,000 new references are added each week. Scopus is a similar citation index emphasizing the sciences and social sciences, with some humanities coverage.
ARTFL Project
Over 2,000 French literary texts from the University of Chicago. The New York Public Library offers a more complete version of ARTFL texts online.
Associations Unlimited
Detailed listings for over 15,000 associations and professional societies worldwide. Not available remotely.
Avery Index of Architectural Periodicals
Indexes 2,800 international journals from 1741 to the present, covering architecture, archaeology, historic preservation, interior design, urban design, and urban planning.
Bibliography of the History of Art
Indexes over 4,800 journals and other publications from 1973 to the present, covering the art of Europe and the Americas from the fourth century to the present, painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, decorative and applied arts, popular and folk art, architecture and industrial design, and film.
Biography Reference Bank
Biographical information about over 500,000 people with over 36,000 images. Drawn from periodicals and reference works, including Oxford University Press's American National Biography and resources from Fitzroy Dearborn, Garland, Greenwood, Oryx, Wilson, and other publishers.
Black Thought and Culture
Black Thought and Culture: African Americans from Colonial Times to the Present includes over 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, speeches, letters, and interviews. The 1,100 figures covered, when the database is complete, will include James Baldwin, Amiri Baraka, Ralph Bunche, Angela Davis, Frederick Douglass, W. E. B. Du Bois, Ralph Ellison, Marcus Garvey, Langston Hughes, Zora Neale Hurston, Martin Luther King, Jr., Malcolm X, Thurgood Marshall, Huey Newton, Jackie Robinson, Paul Robeson, Bobby Seale, Booker T. Washington, Cornel West, and Richard Wright.
Book Review Digest Plus
Index of reviews of fiction and nonfiction in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and popular topics published in English since 1983. Includes some full text. Textbooks, government publications, and technical books in law and the sciences are not included. A guide to Wilson Web databases is available. Also see Finding Book Reviews.
Business and Company Resource Center
Business periodicals and company profiles
Business Source Premier
Full text of over 2,200 scholarly business periodicals. A list of indexed titles is available, as is a subject guide.
Camber
Full text of 79 scholarly books in computer science, economics, education, film, history, literature, religion, sociology, theatre, and women's studies.
Choice Reviews Online
Reviews of academic books and electronic resources since September 1988. Approximately 6,500 reviews by subject specialists are added each year.
Chronicle of Higher Education
The text of The Chronicle of Higher Education is available from September 1997 to the present through LexisNexis. Under Step One, choose University News, and choose The Chronicle of Higher Education for Step Two. As with all titles available through LexisNexis, there is no browsing. You must search for specific subjects, authors, or articles. To browse the current issue, you must first click here and enter your Graduate Center computer network user name and password.
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Full text of recent issues of 46 international affairs journals.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Indexing for 3,001 journals in nursing and allied health, with full text for 336.
Citation Indexes
The Graduate Center subscribes the Web of Science/Web of Knowledge database, providing cited references from thousands of scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Scopus indexes additional journals in the sciences, social sciences, and medicine. Academic Search Premier and other EBSCO databases provide cited references.
Columbia Earthscape
Offers teachers illustrated lectures, animations, video and image banks, exercises and labs, syllabi, and basic textbook readings about environmental issues and also gives researchers carefully selected and assessed collection of environmental legislation, regional studies, international environmental documents, and white papers.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Includes the full text of over 200 journals in communications and media, as well as citations from several hundred additional titles. To determine its usefulness for a wide range of topics in the humanities and social sciences, consult the title list within the database.
CQ Researcher
Full-text reports from 1991 to the present on education, the environment, health, international affairs, technology, the U.S. economy, and other political and social issues. Each 12,000-word report includes bibliographies, maps, tables, and pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions.
Custom Newspapers
Full text of 150 national and international newspapers. A list of available titles can be found by entering the database and clicking the browse button. Also see LexisNexis.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Over 545 free scholarly and scientific online journals arranged by subject. Supported by SPARC and the Open Society Institute.
Dissertation Abstracts/Digital Dissertations
Dissertation Abstracts indexes two-million dissertations from over one-thousand institutions, with citations from 1861 through 1980 and abstracts since 1980. The digitized full text of most CUNY dissertations submitted to UMI since January 1997 is free for users within the Graduate Center and remote access. Note that some dissertation authors have chosen not to allow full-text access and that there is a gap of weeks or months between the time new dissertations are listed and the text becomes available. A guide to the database is available. Also see Finding Ph.D. Dissertations and Master's Theses.
To limit your search to CUNY dissertations, include the school code 0046 in your search statement.
CUNY dissertations are available in the Dissertation Reading Room on the first floor of the library, near the reference desk on the second floor, and on microfilm on the second floor.
Dissertations may be purchased from Dissertation Abstracts in several formats. Those without access to Dissertation Abstracts should contact UMI.Foreign dissertations can be searched in the Center for Research Libraries' Foreign Doctoral Dissertations Database.
EconLit
Bibliographic citations of articles from over 400 mostly English-language journals from 1969 to the present and abstracts of many articles beginning with 1987. Some books, dissertations, conference proceedings, etc. are also indexed. A guide to the database is available.
Ecrivain quebecois
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical essays about Quebec writers.Education Full Text
Abstracts of articles from over 400 English-language publications since June 1983 and full text of articles from approximately 200 publications since January 1994. A guide to Wilson Web databases is available.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
ECCO offers every page of 150,000 books published during the eighteenth century in English, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Spanish, and Welsh. In addition to searches by author, title, and publisher, these books may be searched by individual categories such as fine arts, history and geography, law, literature and language, medicine, science, and technology, religion and philosophy, social sciences, general reference, or a combination of two or more subjects. Illustrated works may be searched by cartoon, map, music, portrait, etc. ECCO may also be browsed by author and title.
Electronic Text Center at University of Virginia
The Electronic Text Center's holdings include approximately 70,000 on- and off-line humanities texts in many languages (including online Chinese and Japanese literature) and hundreds of thousands of related images (book illustrations, covers, manuscripts, newspaper pages, page images of Special Collections books, museum objects, etc.).
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Full text of current edition of popular encyclopedia.
English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC)
British Library provides free access to records of over 460,000 items published in English between 1473 and 1800.
ERIC (EBSCO);   ERIC (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
ERIC provides bibliographic citations from over 750 education journals from 1966 to the present. A guide to the database is available.
ERIC documents, those with ED, not EJ, numbers, are available on microfiche on the second floor of the library from ED 000001 through ED 462533. Other ERIC documents may be available at the government's ERIC site.
Essay and General Literature Index
Contains citations to essays in collections of mostly scholarly works and miscellaneous works published since 1984 in the United States, Canada, and the United Kingdom. More than 300 volumes are indexed annually. While there are no abstracts, complete contents of the volumes are listed. An extremely useful resource for all disciplines because it indexes sources not covered elsewhere. A guide to Wilson Web databases is available.
Ethnic NewsWatch
A full-text database for American ethnic newspapers, magazines, and journals in English and Spanish.
Eureka
Collection of six French-language publications providing news about French canada. Over 1,000 biographies, bibliographies, and critical articles about Quebec writers. See also Ecrivains quebecois.
Film Literature Index
Indexes all the content of 150 film and television journals from 30 countries and selectively indexes 200 additional periodicals. Includes 700,000 citations of articles, film reviews, and book reviews from 1976-2001. Also see Searching for DVDs and Videocassettes in CUNY+.
Foundation Directory Online
Information about 20,000 large and mid-sized U.S. foundations and files for more than half-a-million grants. The Trustees, Officers, and Donors search field and its corresponding index allow users to search over 110,000 trustee, officer and donor names. You must use your Graduate Center computer network login to use this database.
Foundation Grants to Individuals Online
Search for scholarships, fellowships, grants, awards, and other financial support for individuals, with more than 6,100 entries, updated quarterly., including detailed descriptions of approximately 2,000 programs which fund individual grant seekers. You must use your Graduate Center computer network login to use this database.
Full-Text Journals
Alphabetical list of approximately 30,000 journal, magazine, and newspaper titles available in full text.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Full text of 200 reference books published by Gale, including American Civil War Reference Library; Ancient Europe, 8000 BC to AD 1000; Encyclopedia of Aging; Encyclopedia of American Religions; Encyclopedia of Small Business; Encyclopedia of World Biography; Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America; Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History; Vietnam War Reference Library; World Education Encyclopedia.
Gartner
Gartner provides reports analyzing information technology products and markets, including ranking vendors and explaining how IT is affected by government regulations here and abroad. CUNY does not have access to all Gartner reports. Use the advanced search to access only those available to CUNY. Gartner can be accessed only through the CUNY Portal.
General Science Full Text
Indexes scholarly, professional, and popular science periodicals published from 1984 to the present in the United States and the United Kingdom. Abstracts are available for articles published since March 1993. Includes text for 105 publications. A guide to Wilson Web databases is available.
Grove Art
The electronic version of Grove's The Dictionary of Art and an additional 100,000 images from the Bridgeman Art Library. The 34 volumes of the text edition of Grove Art are available in the library's reference collection under Ref. N31.D5 1996. A guide to the database is available.
Grove Music
Online version of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition. The 29 volumes of the text edition are available in the library's reference collection under Ref. ML100.N48 2001. The Concise Grove is free from WQXR. Grove Music also includes the contents of The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz and The New Grove Dictionary of Opera. A guide to the database is available. Also see Searching for Music Scores and Sound Recordings in CUNY+.
Handbooks in Economics Series
Text of 21 Elsevier titles.
HAPI
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index covers Latin American economic, political, and social issues and arts and letters from 1970 to the present, providing citations of articles from more than 500 journals.
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Health information from journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and such reference works as Consumer Health Information Source Book, Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer, Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, Harvard Special Health Reports, Medical Health Information Directory, and Patient's Guide to Medical Tests. These sources provide definitions of medical terms, information about prescription drugs, and details about health organizations.
Health Reference Center
Health information from 40 general and specialized periodicals and medical reference works.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Full text from over 520 scholarly medical journals and abstracts for additional titles. Click here for a title list.
HireWire Press
HighWire Press, the Internet imprint of Stanford University Libraries, offers free access to over 140,000 full-text articles from scientific, medical, and psychiatric journals. Not all of HighWire Press's content is free.
Historical Abstracts
Indexes over 1,700 journals in fifty languages as well as dissertations and selected monographs from 1954 to the present A list of the titles indexed is available, as well as a guide to the database.
Humanities Full Text
Includes abstracts of articles published in English from 1984 to the present in all fields of the humanities. Includes text from 272 periodicals. A guide to Wilson Web databases is available.
Humanities International Complete
Indexes over 2,000 humanities sources, including journals, books, and reference works, with full text of 814 sources. In addition to articles and reviews, the database provides abstracts of fiction, poetry, photographs, and drawings.
IEEE Computer Society Digital Library
Text of fifteen IEEE journals, nine transactions, and conference proceedings.
In the First Person: An Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories, and Personal Narratives
Index to 4,000 collections of personal narratives in libraries and other repositories around the world.
Index to Current Urban Documents
Guide to the reports and research generated by local government agencies, civic organizations, academic and research organizations, public libraries, and metropolitan and regional planning agencies in approximately five-hundred selected cities in the United States and Canada. Over 2,400 documents indexed annually.
IndexMaster
Indices and tables of content from over 10,000 legal books.
Informe (Revistas en Espanol)
Collection of 65 Spanish-language journals, including Anales de la Literatura Espanola, Cuardernos de Economia: Latin American Journal of Economics, Folklore Americano, Letras Libres, and Revista de Historica de America. A complete title list is available within the database.
Infoshare
Demographic information about New York City drawn from city, state, and federal sources. Also includes some national statistics. Use the raw data to create customized tables. The information in Infoshare is supplemented by many free Web sites, including National Priorities Project Database, which provides a range of statistics relating to labor, poverty, and social programs by state.
Ingenta
Ingenta indexes over 28,000 academic journals in many disciplines, with full-text article delivery available for a fee. For free access to the articles, check the journal title in both the CUNY Graduate Center Full Text Journals and CUNY+. If an article you want is unavailable at the Graduate Center, request it via Interlibrary Loan for free delivery.
Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
Social science data from the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan. Click here for more information.
JAMA
The online edition of JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association includes the complete full text of all issues since January 1998, selected text from May 1992 through December 1997, tables of contents and abstracts only from January 1975 to May 1992, and tables of contents only from January 1966 through December 1974. Select Collections to browse through articles on such topics as aging/geriatrics, dentistry, dermatology, etc. and to register for e-mail alerts when new articles on topics of interest become available.
JSTOR
The Arts and Sciences I-IV collections of JSTOR offer the full text of 855 scholarly journals in African studies, African-American studies, American Indian studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, Asian studies, business, classical studies, ecology, economics, education, feminist and women's studies, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, history, history of science, language, Latin American studies, law, literature, mathematics, Middle East studies, music, performing arts, philosophy, political science, population studies, psychology, public policy and administration, religion, Slavic studies, sociology, and statistics. (Science titles are available at Hunter, Medgar Evers, New York Tech, and Staten Island, additional business titles at Baruch, Hunter, and Queens.) Coverage begins with the first issue of each journal and continues through varying periods within the last five years. Click here for a list of the journals by subject and the available dates. Click here for an alphabetical list without dates. To establish links to JSTOR articles, click here. A guide to the database is also available.
Law Library Microfilm Collection
Digitized versions of thousands of legal documents, mostly from government sources. These materials should be of particular interest to researchers in history, political science, and sociology.
LexisNexis
Full-text news, business, legal, and medical database with access to over 5,900 publications. Includes most of the world's major English-language newspapers, including The New York Times since June 1, 1980, and Chronicle of Higher Education since September 1997. It also includes many non-English language newspaper titles, as well as journals and magazines such as The American Prospect, The Economist, Foreign Affairs, The New Republic, New Scientist, The New Yorker, Newsweek, Publishers Weekly, and Washington Quarterly. A guide to citing references is available. A guide to the database is also available.
Library Literature and Information Science Full Text
Indexes 220 library science periodicals as well as books and conference proceedings published since 1984. Includes text from 148 periodicals.. A guide to Wilson Web databases is available.
LISTA: Library, Information Science, and Technology Abstracts
This freely available database indexes more than 600 periodicals from the mid-1960s to the present and also includes abstracts of books, research reports, and conference proceedings. A title list is available.
Literary Market Place
Directory of American, Canadian, and international publishers. Library no longer subscribes to print edition.
Literature Resources from Gale
Text from 324 journals, as well as more than 10,000 bio-critical essays from Dictionary of Literary Biography; biographical information about over 120,000 writers from Contemporary Authors; all entries from Contemporary Literary Criticism since volume 95 and complete profiles of more than 200 of the most studied authors from previous editions of CLC; the Scribner Writers Series of 15-to-20-page essays about over 1,600 writers and literary genres; the full text of 600 books from Twayne's Author Series; and selected content from Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Drama Criticism. A guide to the database is available.
LLBA (Linguistic and Language Behavior Abstracts)
Bibliographic citations from over 1,500 linguistic and language periodicals from 1970 to the present. A guide to the database is available.
MasterFile Premier
Full text for over 2,000 general business, consumer health, multi-cultural, and science periodicals, 320 reference works, and over 86,000 primary-source documents. Less scholarly than Academic Search Premier. A list of indexed titles is available, as is a list of full-text books, mostly related to biography and travel, and a list of full-text pamphlets dealing with a variety of topics, especially health and consumer-related topics.
MathSciNet
Web version of American Mathematical Society's Mathematical Reviews, covering 1,799 journals. A guide to the database is available.
Medline
The EBSCO version of Medline includes the full text of articles from 90 leading medical journals.
Two free versions of Medline (PubMed and MedlinePlus) are available anywhere.
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks from 1989 to the present.
Military and Government Collection
Full text of over 390 military and general-interest publications as well as indexing and abstracting for an additional 200 titles. Also includes full text of 245 pamphlets.
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
MLA, available through Gale's Literature Resource Center, indexes over 3,000 periodicals dealing with literature, language, linguistics, folklore, and popular culture from 1926 to the present. MLA includes the full text from recent issues of 324 journals. A guide to the database is available.
Nature
Text of all content from 1997 to present. Tables of content from 1950 to present.
Naxos
Online access to over 85,000 tracks from over 5,500 recordings in classical music, jazz, folk music, and world music. The offerings may be browsed by genre or by such categories as chamber music, composers, film music, opera, etc. or searched using the advanced search screen. Please consult the User Instructions. If prompted for a login, use GCCUNY01 as both user name and password. Also see Searching for Music Scores and Sound Recordings in CUNY+.
NBER: National Bureau of Economic Research
Full text of working papers by over 500 professors. After selecting a title, click on Information for subscribers and others expecting no-cost downloads, and enter your CUNY e-mail address in the form. Access only for those with CUNY e-mail addresses.
NetLibrary
NetLibrary hosts a collection of 2,594 recent scholarly titles as electronic books. These titles represent all disciplines and are aimed at both undergraduate and graduate research needs. While all of CUNY shares a core of NetLibrary titles, several campuses, including the Graduate Center, have purchased additional titles. NetLibrary also provides access to over 3,400 public-domain titles.
While no title list is provided within NetLibrary, one can be created by going to CUNY+, limiting the search to the Graduate Center, and performing the keyword search netlibrary.
If you are unfamiliar with NetLibrary, please see this tutorial. This brief guide may also be helpful.
You will frequently see in CUNY+ electronic books from sources, such as Ebrary, other than NetLibrary. Because the Graduate Center does not subscribe to many of these services, these books are not accessible to Graduate Center students and faculty. In addition, several CUNY campuses own NetLibrary titles not available to Graduate Center affiliates.
Electronic books are also available from New York Public Library. Links to numerous sources of public-domain books can be found at The Online Books Page.
New York Public Library Databases
Holders of New York Public Library cards have access to several bibliographic/full-text databases. Instructions about applying for a library card are available.
New York Review of Books
All content from 1963 to the present.New York State Newspapers
Full text of Binghamton Press & Sun-Bulletin, Buffalo News, New York Observer, New York Post, New York Times, Rochester Democrat and Chronicle, Syracuse Herald-American, Syracuse Herald-Journal, Syracuse Post-Standard, and Westchester Journal News. Also see LexisNexis, New York Times Full Text, and Custom Newspapers.
New York Times Full Text
Actual page images from 1851 through 2003. The coverage for more recent years will become available later. When the results of a search are displayed, you have three retrieval options: 1. bibliographic citation and abstract; 2. article image (retrieved with Adobe Acrobat Reader); 3. page map, displaying the entire page on which the article appears. The full text of the Times since June 1, 1980, is available from Lexis-Nexis. A guide to the database is available.
The New York Times has made its TimesSelect subscription service available free to all students and faculty using an .edu e-mail address. TimesSelect provides access to all of the newspaper's editorial content and early access to the Arts and Leisure, Book Review, Magazine, and Travel sections of the Sunday Times. To register for TimesSelect, go to The New York Times, click the TimesSelect link at the top of the page, and follow the procedure. When completing the last step in the process, there is a delay after selecting New York as your state before the list of schools appears in a drop-down menu.Opposing Viewpoints
Social-issues information from newspaper and magazine articles, Gale reference sources, government and organizational statistics, primary documents, and over 1,800 annotated Web sites.Oxford English Dictionary
The complete contents of the second edition of The Oxford English Dictionary. A guide to the database is available.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
Translations of over 2,000 French, German, Italian, and Spanish words and phrases.
Oxford Reference Online
Text of more than 100 Oxford University Press reference works, including Oxford Companions to American Literature, American Theatre, the Bible, British History, Classical Civilization, History of Modern Science, Music, Philosophy, Politics of the World, Shakespeare, United States History, and Western Art. A complete title list is available here.PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service International)/ PAIS Archive
Bibliographic citations from journals, books, government documents, and additional sources dealing with public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general from 1915 to the present. A guide to the database is available.
Philosopher's Index
Bibliographic citations from philosophy journals and books in Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Russian, and Spanish from 1940 to the present. Over 480 journals from thirty-eight countries are indexed. Approximately eighty percent of citations are from journal articles, the rest from books. More than 10,000 new records are added annually. Most records beginning in 1970 have abstracts. A guide to the database is available.
Professional Development Collection
Provides the full text of 550 education journals and more than 200 educational reports. Indexes an additional 150 journals.
Project Muse
Full text of 350 journals, by the end of 2007, in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences from 67 publishers. Click here for a list of the available titles. A guide to the database is available.
PsycArticles
Covers general psychology and basic, applied, specialized, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology. Contains over 25,000 articles from 45 American Psychological Association journals and eight journals from related organizations from 1985 to the present. Also includes letters to the editor and errata. Purchased with Student Technology Fee funds. A guide to the database is available.
PsycBooks
This American Psychological Association (APA) database provides the full text of more than 500 APA books published from 1950 through 2003, including over 100 out-of-print titles. Also included are 75 archival resources from other publishers dating back to the early nineteenth century and more than 1,500 entries from Encyclopedia of Psychology, published in 2000 by APA and Oxford University Press.
PsycInfo
The Web version of Psychological Abstracts provides abstracts of articles from nearly 2,000 journals in thirty-five languages since 1872 and abstracts of books and essays in books from 1987 to the present. A guide to the database is available.
Public Library of Science
PLoS Biology, PLoS Computational Biology, PLoS Genetics, PLoS Medicine, and PLoS Pathogens offer open access to recent scientific reports.
Readers' Guide Full Text
Indexes popular general-interest periodicals from 1983 to the present. Includes text from 230 periodicals. A guide to Wilson Web databases is available.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
Indexes popular general-interest periodicals from 1890 to 1982. A guide to Wilson Web databases is available.
Regional Business News
Most recent thirty days of information from such business wire sources as A&G Information, Africa News Service, Inter Press Service, Resource News International, South American Business, M2 Communications, PR Newswire, Business Newswire, Canadian Corporate News, News Bytes News Network, and Phillips Business Information Highlights. Information provided by these sources covers business, economic, political, and international news events. A list of indexed titles is available.
RILM Music Abstracts
Over 250,000 citations from more than 300 journals and others sources from 1969 to the present. This database is updated monthly. Also see Searching for Music Scores and Sound Recordings in CUNY+.
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals
International bibliography of writings on musical history and culture from periodicals published in seventeen countries between 1800 and 1950. Included are over 5,000 English translations of foreign-language records. The database is the creation of the International Musicological Society, the International Association of Music Libraries, Archives, and Documentation Centres, and UNESCO's International Council for Philosophy and Humanistic Studies, with contributions from individual scholars, archivists, and librarians in North America and Europe. Coverage of Latin American publications is being planned. Approximately 20,000 records are added annually. Also see Searching for Music Scores and Sound Recordings in CUNY+.
RISM: International Inventory of Musical Sources after 1600
The database, also known as Repertoire international des sources musicales, aims to document the world's musical sources of manuscripts or printed music, works on music theory, and libretti in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools, and private collections and is considered the most comprehensive annotated guide to such sources. It includes more than 564,000 items by over 19,500 composers. The manuscripts reside in over 740 libraries and archives in 31 countries. At least 20,000 new records are added each year. A more detailed description is available. Also see Searching for Music Scores and Sound Recordings in CUNY+.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Full text of the ten-volume 1998 reference work.
SAGE Communication Collection
Full text of 19 SAGE communication journals from 1955 to the present.
SAGE Education Collection
Full text of 20 SAGE education journals from 1968 to the present.
SAGE Journals Online
Full text of 172 SAGE journals in communications, education, management, nursing, political science, psychology, and sociology. Other CUNY campuses may have access to additional SAGE collections.
SAGE Management & Organization Studies Collection
Full text of 44 SAGE journals in management, organization studies, business, human resources, marketing, public policy, public administration, and industrial relations from 1947 to the present. Twenty-one journals are available from their first issues.
SAGE Nursing & Health Sciences Collection
Full text of 30 SAGE journals in nursing and health-related fields from 1982 to the present. Fourteen journals are available from their first issues.
SAGE Political Science Collection
Full text of 25 SAGE political science journals from 1981 to the present. Nine journals are available from their first issues.
SAGE Psychology Collection
Full text of 30 SAGE psychology journals from 1970 to the present.
SAGE Sociology Collection
Full text of 34 SAGE sociology journals from 1967 to the present. Twelve journals are available from their first issues.
ScienceDirect
Full text from 1980 to the present for 1,576 journals and indexing and abstracting of all titles from their first issues. While all titles may be searched, CUNY has full-text access only for those journals to whose print versions either CUNY or SUNY subscribes. The green subscribed-journal icon indicates which are accessible in full text. Most of these journals are in the sciences and social sciences, but there are a few in the humanities, mostly in linguistics. To determine which are available in your discipline, click the Journals button at the top of the search screen. Select Subscribed Journals in the Display box and by Subject in the Sort box. Also see Scirus: For Scientific Information Only, which searches the Web and ScienceDirect at once. A guide to the database is available.
Science Citation Index
Part of Web of Science, this database finds bibliographic citations, abstracts, cited references, and the number of times cited for articles from 5,900 major journals in 150 scientific disciplines since 1900. Approximately 19,000 new records with 423, 000 references are added weekly. Scopus is a similar citation index emphasizing the sciences and social sciences.
Science Magazine
Full text since January 1997.
Science Reference Center
639 full-text titles from reference works, biographies, and periodicals, covering all science disciplines.
Scirus
Free science search engine includes links to open-access journals.
Scopus
Abstract and citation database indexes 15,000 international peer-reviewed journals in the social sciences, sciences, and medicine from 1996 to the present. A more detailed description is available.
Serials Directory
Bibliographic and contact information about over 184,000 U.S. and international periodicals.Social Explorer
New York City, Los Angeles, and national demographic maps based on Census data. A companion to Infoshare.
Social Sciences Citation Index
Part of Web of Science, this database finds bibliographic citations, abstracts, cited references, and the number of times cited for articles from 1,725 major journals in 50 social science disciplaines since 1956. Approximately6 2,900 new records and 60,000 references are added each week. Scopus is a similar citation index emphasizing the social sciences and sciences.
Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes English-language periodicals in the social sciences from 1983 to the present. Includes abstracts for articles published beginning January 1994. Includes full text from 250 periodicals. A guide to Wilson Web databases is available.
Social Services Abstracts
Abstracts of articles from 1980 to the present.
SocIndex with Full Text
This EBSCO database indexes 2,540 journals in the social sciences, with full text as far back as 1895 for 253 journals, as well as the text for an additional 72 journals, 547 books, and 6,711 American Sociological Association and American Society of Criminology conference papers. A title list is available.Sociological Abstracts
Bibliographic citations from 2,600 journals concerned with sociology and related disciplines from 1963 to the present. A guide to the database is available.
SpringerLink
SpringerLink, formerly Kluwer Online, offers the full text of recent issues of 1,234 mostly social science and science journals.. Only the articles with the eyeglasses symbol are available in full text. While the default search screen is Articles by citation, choose the Articles by text tab for most searches. SpringerLink can also be found at Baruch, Bronx Community College, Brooklyn, City College, Hunter, John Jay, Lehman, Queens, and Staten Island. A guide to the database is available.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
Digital collection of mostly literary texts in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium, AD 1453. Included are 12,000 works by 3,700 authors. Users can create a profile to use features such as setting preferences and saving searches.Thieme Science Collection
Text of Plant Biology (2000 to present), Planta Medica (1999 to present), Synlett (2006 to present), and Synthesis (2006 to present).TopicSearch
Full-text information about economic, political, and social issues, medical and scientific developments, etc. from over 1,750 journals, magazines, international and regional newspapers, government sources, pamphlets, public opinion polls, biographical dictionaries, and similar sources. Includes color images. A list of titles is available.
Twayne's Authors Series
Full text of 586 books providing biographical, critical, and bibliographic studies of writers from Chinua Achebe to Emile Zola and overviews of eighteen topics, including French structuralism, Native American literature, and women writers of the English renaissance. These writers and topics may also be searched within Literature Resource Center.
Web of Science
The Graduate Center now subscribes to all three parts (1) Social Sciences Citation Index, since 1956, (2) Arts & Humanities Citation Index, since 1975, and (3) Science Citation Index, since 1900, of the ISI Web of Science database.
Wiley InterScience Journals
Full-text of 154 social science and science journals published by Wiley is available on fourteen CUNY campuses: Baruch, Borough of Manhattan Community College, Bronx Community College, Brooklyn, City, Graduate Center, Hunter, John Jay, Kingsborough Community College, Lehman, Medgar Evers, Queens, Staten Island, and York. The text is available for most journals beginning in 1997. Many Wiley journals provide online access to accepted articles before the print editions are published. Wiley also allows you to establish an account for saving search results and accessing the database from home. To create this account, you must be in the Graduate Center. Click the My Profile button, and follow the directions. A guide to the database is available.
Women and Social Movements
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 offers over 29,000 pages of documents and 800 images, with approximately 5,000 pages to be added annually. Also included are a dictionary of social movements and organizations and a timeline of United States women's history.
WorldCat
Holdings of thousands of American and international libraries. Searchable in English, French, and Spanish. A guide to the database is available. Also available is a free version of WorldCat
World Data Analyst
Statistical profiles of over 200 countries.
World Shakespeare Bibliography
Annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare published or produced since 1969. The more than 83,000 records in 92 languages cite several hundred-thousand additional reviews of books, productions, films, and audio recordings.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations of articles in political science, international relations, international law, public administration, public policy, and related topics from 1975 to the present. It indexes over 1,500 titles, 67% of which are from outside the United States. Almost 500,000 records are included, with 20,000 more added annually. A more detailed description is available.

