Database News and Trials
Please notify Michael Adams of your reactions to these resources.
- Web of Science - new database - Read More
- Scopus - new database - Read More
- Oxford Language Dictionaries Online - Read More
- Cambridge Companions Online trial - Read More
- New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics trial ends Apr. 4 - Read More
- LGBT Life with Full Text trial ends Apr. 8 - Read More
- Theatre in Video trial ends Apr. 11 - Read More
- International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text trial ends Apr. 18 - Read More
- International Index to Performing Arts Full Text trial ends Apr. 18 - Read More
- Aluka trial ends June 30 - Read More
- Harper's Weekly trial ends soon - Read More
- Human Resources Abstracts trial ends soon - Read More
- Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines trial ends soon - Read More
- The Making of the Modern World trial ends soon - Read More
- Urban Studies Abstracts trial ends soon - Read More
Web of Science
As of January 2008, the Graduate Center subscribes to the complete Web of Science providing citations from thousands of international scholarly journals in the arts and humanities (from 1975), sciences (from 1900), and social sciences (from 1956). Scopus is a similar product, covering the sciences, social sciences, and medicine.
International Index to Musical Periodicals Full Text
The Graduate Center has a trial through April 18 to International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text. This database is password-protected, and the link will take you to a page where the password can be found. The database provides indexing and abstracting for over 430 music periodicals from more than twenty countries. Full text is available for 123 of these journals.
International Index to Performing Arts Full Text
The Graduate Center has a trial through April 18 to International Index to Performing Arts Full Text. This database is password-protected, and the link will take you to a page where the password can be found. The database provides indexing and abstracting for more than 240 international periodicals in drama, theater, musical theater, opera, dance, performance art, film, and television. Full text is available for 95 of these journals.
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
CUNY has a trial through April 4 to The N ew Palgrave Dictionary of Economics, with over 1,850 articles by more than 1,500 economists.
LGBT Life with Full Text
The Graduate Center has a trial of LGBT Life with Full Text through April 8. The database includes the full text of 55 historically significant lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender journals, magazines, and regional newspapers, as well as more than 100 mongraphs.
Theatre in Video
The Graduate Center has a trial of Theatre in Video through April 11. The database offers 279 videos of plays or drama documentaries. See Alan Arkin, Peggy Ashcroft, Marie-Christine Barrault, Claire Bloom, Zoe Caldwell, Richard Dreyfuss, John Gielgud, Lou Gossett, Jr., Philip Baker Hall, Julie Harris, Anthony Hopkins, John Hurt, James Earl Jones, Walter Matthau, Helen Mirren, Laurence Olivier, Michel Piccoli, Meryl Streep, John Thaw, Cicely Tyson, Jon Voight, Eli Wallach, and others in plays by Aeschylus, Beckett, Chekhov, Fugard, Gogol, Hansberry, Ibsen, Moliere, O'Neill, Pinter, Pirandello, Shakespeare, Sophocles, Strindberg, and others.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
As of January 2008, the Graduate Center subscribes to Oxford Language Dictionaries Online, providing French, German, Italian, and Spanish dictionaries published by Oxford University Press. The database offers more than 2,000 translations of words and phrases to and from English.
Cambridge Companions Online
CUNY has a trial of Cambridge Companions Online. This database provides the text of 273 books in the Cambridge series devoted to literature, the classics, philosophy, religion, and culture, including companions to Adam Smith, the African American novel, the age of Augustus, American Judaism, American modernism, Arthur Miller, atheism, etc.
Harper's Weekly, 1857-1912
CUNY has a trial subscription, ending soon, to issues of this popular illustrated magazine from the War Between the States through the Gilded Age. Access requires using your Graduate Center computer network login to retrieve the necessary user name and password.
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines
CUNY has a trial subscription, ending soon, to this database offering 39 periodicals representing both sides in the War Between the States. Access requires using your Graduate Center computer network login to retrieve the necessary user name and password.
Scopus
As of January 2008, the Graduate Center subscribes to Scopus. This abstract and citation database indexes 15,000 international peer-reviewed journals in the social sciences, sciences, and medicine from 1996 to the present. A more detailed description is available.
The Making of the Modern World
CUNY has a trial, ending soon, to The Making of the Modern World: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature. Covering economics, banking, finance, transportation, manufacturing, history, political science, and sociology, the database includes the text of 61,000 books published during 1460-1850 as well as 466 pre1906 serials.
Human Resources Abstracts
The Graduate Center has a trial, ending soon, to Human Resources Abstracts, providing bibliographic records covering all aspects of human resources.
Urban Studies Abstracts
The Graduate Center has a trial, ending soon, to Urban Studies Abstracts, consisting of biographic records in urban affairs, community development, urban history, and related areas.
Aluka
CUNY has a trial through June 30, 2009, to Aluka, providing access to primary documents related to Africa. While the database may eventually include materials related to struggles for freedom in Southern Africa and African cultural heritage sites and landscapes, this trial version offers only sources dealing with African plants, including 280,000 items involving plant specimens, photographs, art, reference works, and archival records of historical expeditions to Africa.

