Academic OneFile
Indexes over 12,000 journals and reference sources in all subjects, with text from 5,913 publications. Includes transcripts and audio of NPR (National Public Radio) programs.
note: full text of over 5,900 journals
Academic Search Complete
Interdisciplinary full-text database. Full text of over 8,700 journals, including 7.600 peer-reviewed journals, with indexing for another 4,000 titles. While full text is available as far back as 1887 for a few titles, the text of most titles is available only for the past decade or two. Also includes the text of books, conference papers, conference proceedings, and educational reports.
Database Guide (PDF)note: text from over 8,700 journals in all disciplines
ACM Digital Library
Provides the full-text of Association for Computing Machinery periodicals and proceedings since 1985.
Online help. note: journals since 1985
AGRICOLA (National Agricultural Library)
Citations to literature created by the National Library of Agriculture and similar institutions. Drawn from 1,400 international journals. Covers materials in all formats, including printed works from the fifteenth century. Useful for researchers in biology and environmental science.
note: free citations to agricultural literature
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Series 1
The Graduate Center has a trial of this resource offering the text of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1820, including original typography, graphics, and drawings. Search all four series by selecting
Choose Databases.
note: trial ends Dec. 2
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Series 2
The Graduate Center has a trial of this resource offering the text of American periodicals published between 1821 and 1837, including original typography, graphics, and drawings. Search all four series by selecting
Choose Databases.
note: trial ends Dec. 2
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Series 3
The Graduate Center has a trial of this resource offering the text of American periodicals published between 1838 and 1852, including original typography, graphics, and drawings. Search all four series by selecting
Choose Databases.
note: trial ends Dec. 2
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Series 4
The Graduate Center has a trial of this resource offering the text of American periodicals published between 1866 and 1867, including original typography, graphics, and drawings. Search all four series by selecting
Choose Databases.
note: trial ends Dec. 2
L' Annee philologique
French classics journal from 1949 through 2006. Earlier issues will be added eventually.
note: French classics journal
Annual Reviews
Full text of 38 Annual Reviews in the social sciences, biomedical sciences, and physical sciences from 1996 to the present. Earlier years of the Annual Reviews of Anthropology, Ecology and Systematics, and Sociology are available from JSTOR. Earlier years of the Annual Reviews of Genetics and Psychology are available from Academic Search Premier. Earlier years of Annual Review of Microbiology are available from Health Reference Center.
note: all 38 titles
Anthropological Index Online
AIO indexes current periodicals in the British Museum's Anthropology Library from 1957 to the present.
note: free index of journals
AnthroSource
Archive of 54 American Anthropological Association journals through 2003 and current issues of 15 journals.
note: American Anthropological Association journals
Applied Science Abstracts
Indexes 350 international and English-language periodicals in mathematics, physics, computer technology, and engineering from October 1983 to the present. Searchable in English, French, and Spanish.
note: indexes 350 journals
Aristotle Bibliography
Bibliography of more than 50,000 books, articles, book reviews, and disserations dealing with Aristotle and related topics from 1900 to the present.
note: citations since 1900
Art Full Text
The full-text version of Art Index indexes 460 journals, providing the full text of many beginning with 1997. In addition to art history and architecture titles, many film journals are included. A list of available titles can be generated by going here and selecting Journal Directory.
Database Guide (PDF)note: full text version of Art Index
Art Museum Image Gallery
Offers over 155,000 images from museum collections around the world. There are also bibliographic records, many with curatorial text, provenance data, detailed or multiple views, and related multimedia.
note: 155,000 images from museum collections
Art Retrospective
Index of art periodicals from 1929 to 1984.
note: indexes art periodicals from 1929 to 1984
ARTFL Project
Over 2,600 French literary texts from the University of Chicago. The New York Public Library offers a more complete version of ARTFL texts online.
note: French literary texts
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Part of Web of Science, this database finds bibliographic citations, abstracts, cited references, and the number of times cited for articles from 1,160 international journals in the arts and humanities since 1975 as well as relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journal. Approximately 2,300 new records containing 15,525 new references are added each week. To search only this portion of Web of Science, scroll to bottom of search screen and check only Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Scopus is a similar citation index emphasizing the sciences and social sciences, with some humanities coverage.
note: cited references since 1975
ARTstor
Nearly one million images of art and architecture.
Online help.note: one million images
Auction Catalogs
The Graduate Center has a trial through December 31, 2011, to over 1,500 digitized auction catalogs from the collections of the Frick Art Reference Library and the Thomas J. Watson Library at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. The digitized catalogs date from the 18th through early 20th centuries.
note: trial ends December 31, 2011
Avery Index of Architectural Periodicals
Indexes 2,800 international journals from 1741 to the present, covering architecture, archaeology, historic preservation, interior design, urban design, and urban planning.
note: indexes 2,800 international journals