1  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  T  U  V  W  Z  [all]
Search for keyword     Research Guides
Library Home
E
Early English Books Online (EEBO) Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Some full text Resource contains images
Scanned images of the text of over 118,500 books published in English between 1473 and 1700. Information about resizing text, printing multiple pages, and citing EEBO titles is available.
note: 118,500 books
Ebook Library (EBL) Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Some full text
EBL offers electronic books in a variety of subjects. Items in EBL are typically course-reserve readings and are listed in CUNY+ (the catalog of CUNY library holdings).   EBL titles are available only to Graduate Center students, faculty, and staff.  Downloading these electronic books requires a free download of Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) software.Guide

note: electronic books requested for reserve; not available to non-GC patrons
ebrary Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Some full text
Approximately 68,000 electronic books in all disciplines from such publishers as BIOS Scientific Publishers, Brill Academic Publishers, Brookings Institution,Cambridge University Press, Columbia University Press, Cornell University Press,Greenwood Press, Harvard University Press, John Wiley, Johns Hopkins University Press, Kluwer Academic Publishers, Manchester University Press, MIT Press, Oxford University Press, Palgrave-Macmillan, Princeton University Press, Random House, Springer, Stanford University Press, University of California Press, University of Chicago Press, World Bank, and Yale University Press. Guide

You can also search the catalog to see if a title is available with ebrary.


note: 68,000 scholarly books
EBSCO eBook Collection Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Some full text

Formerly known as NetLibrary the EBSCO eBook Collection hosts a collection of more than 2,800 recent scholarly titles as electronic books. These titles represent all disciplines and are aimed at both undergraduate and graduate research needs. While all of CUNY shares a core of titles, several campuses, including the Graduate Center, have purchased additional titles.  To use the database from home, you must first connect to the site on any CUNY campus and click on Create a free account. Accounts can also be created by connecting to to the database remotely. Titles may be checked out for only twenty-four hours. All available titles also appear in the CUNY Catalog.

note: more than 2,800 electronic books
EconLit Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff ArticleLinker enabled
Bibliographic citations of articles from over 750 international journals from 1969 to the present and abstracts of many articles beginning with 1987. Some books, dissertations, conference proceedings, etc. are also indexed. Database Guide (PDF)

note: indexes 750 journals
Economist Historical Archive 1843-2006 Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Some full text
Historical archive of The Economist from 1843 to 2006. Search Journals for sources of recent issues.
note: 1843-2006 archive
Education Full Text Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff ArticleLinker enabled Some full text
Abstracts of articles from over 600 publications since June 1983 and full text of articles from over 350 publications, many beginning with 1996.
note: over 200 journals
Education Index Retrospective Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Indexes 500 education periodicals from 1929 through 1983. This database may be searched in conjunction with Education Full Text, which includes articles from recent issues of 350 periodicals.
note: citations 1929-1983
Education Research Complete Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Some full text
Includes full text of nearly 1,200 journals and more than 500 books and monographs. Includes indexing for an additional 1,000 journals.
note: 1,700 journals and books
Educational Curriculum & Methods Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Some full text
Information about scholarly publishing opportunities.
note: scholarly publishing opportunities
Eighteenth Century Collection Online (ECCO) Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Some full text
ECCO offers every page of 150,000 books published during the eighteenth century in English, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Spanish, and Welsh. In addition to searches by author, title, and publisher, these books may be searched by individual categories such as fine arts, history and geography, law, literature and language, medicine, science, and technology, religion and philosophy, social sciences, general reference, or a combination of two or more subjects. Illustrated works may be searched by cartoon, map, music, portrait, etc. ECCO may also be browsed by author and title.
note: over 150,000 books
EJS Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Some full text
Full text of over 99 scholarly journals not available from other resources.  This product is not related to the other EBSCO databases such as Academic Search Complete.
note: 99 journals
Empire Online Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Some full text Resource contains images
The Graduate Center has a trial through October 20 to this collection of primary materials related to British colonialism from 1492 to 2007.

note: trial ends Oct. 20
Encyclopaedia Islamica Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Some full text
Guide to important themes, subjects, and personages related to Islam.  Because Encyclopaedia Islamica is in its early stages of development, only entries beginning with A are available.

note: themes, etc. related to Islam
Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Some full text
The Qur'an is the primary religious text for one-sixth of the world’s population. Understood by Muslims to contain God's own words, it has been an object of reverence and of intense study for centuries. The thousands of volumes that Muslim scholars have devoted to qur'anic interpretation and to the linguistic, rhetorical and narrative analysis of the text are sufficient to create entire libraries of qur'anic studies.  Drawing upon a rich scholarly heritage, Brill's Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an (EQ) combines alphabetically-arranged articles about the contents of the Qur'an. It is an encyclopaedic dictionary of Qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within Qur'anic studies. With nearly 1000 entries in 5 volumes, the EQ is the first comprehensive, multi-volume reference work on the Qur'an to appear in a Western language.
note: religious text
Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Some full text
EALL Online comprehensively covers all aspects of Arabic languages and linguistics. It is interdisciplinary in scope and represents different schools and approaches to be as objective and versatile as possible.
note: interdisciplinary resource
Encyclopedia of Human Relationships Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Some full text
Guide to theories, concepts, and empirical findings about human relationships.

note: reference book
Encyclopedia of Infant and Early Child Development Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Some full text
Provides an entry point into all of the existing literature on child development from numerous fields of study.
note: 1,576 science and social science journals
Encyclopedia of Islam Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Some full text
Complete text of the second and third editions of this reference work.

note: second and third editions
Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Some full text
Complete text of first and second editions and all supplements. Revisions and new articles added quarterly. Use the Search This Title box to search only this resource. Use the Search Wiley InterScience to search it along with the Wiley journals to which the library has access.
note: first and second editions
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Some full text
The EWIC is an interdisciplinary, transhistorical, and global project. It brings together upwards of 1,000 scholars to write critical essays on women, Muslim and non-Muslim, and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. It aims to cover every topic for which there is significant research, examining these regions from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present. EWIC hopes both to offer the state of the art in the broad sweep of topics to inform the general audience and to take on cutting-edge issues to stimulate new research in new terrains.
note: women and Islamic culture
EndNote Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff ArticleLinker enabled
Citation software licensed for CUNY Graduate Center affiliates to download and install on PC or Mac desktops. Generates footnotes and bibliographies in any writing style; manages citations and notes in a private library. Endnote tutorials and online classesEndnote help sheets.
note: GC users download free
EndNote Web Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff ArticleLinker enabled
This online companion to EndNote allows citation gathering from anywhere. Generates footnotes and bibliographies in any writing style; manages citations and notes in a private library. Complements Endnote on your desktop; allows shared access to your citations. Access limited to Graduate Center affiliates. Endnote tutorials and online classes. Endnote help sheets.
note: online citation management
English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) Unrestricted Resource
The British Library provides free access to records of over 460,000 items published in English between 1473 and 1800.
note: free access
ERIC (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts version) Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff ArticleLinker enabled
Citations from over 600 education journals, 1966+.  ERIC documents, those with ED, not EJ, numbers, are available on microfiche on the second floor of the library from ED 000001 through ED 462533. Other ERIC documents may be available at the government's ERIC site. Database Guide (PDF).

note: indexes education resources
ERIC (EBSCO version) Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff ArticleLinker enabled
ERIC provides bibliographic citations from over 600 education journals from 1966 to the present. ERIC documents, those with ED, not EJ, numbers, are available on microfiche on the second floor of the library from ED 000001 through ED 462533. Other ERIC documents may be available at the government's ERIC site. Database Guide (PDF).

note: indexes education resources
Essay & General Literature Index Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Contains citations to essays in collections of mostly scholarly works and miscellaneous works published since 1984 in the United States, Canada, and the United Kingdom. More than 300 volumes are indexed annually. While there are no abstracts, complete contents of the volumes are listed. An extremely useful resource for all disciplines because it indexes sources not covered elsewhere.
note: indexes essay collections
Ethnic NewsWatch Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Some full text
A full-text database for American ethnic newspapers, magazines, and journals in English and Spanish.
note: American ethnic newspapers, etc.
Europa World Online Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Some full text
Political and economic information about over 250 countries and territories. 

note: political and economic information
European Views of the Americas, 1493-1750 Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Bibliographic guide to European works related to the America.  Based upon the authoritative bibliography “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750."

note: bibliographic guide