1  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  T  U  V  W  Z  [all]
Search for keyword     Research Guides
Library Home
N
Nature Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Some full text
Text of all content from 1997 to present. Tables of content from 1950 to present.
note: 1997 to present
Naxos Music Library Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Resource contains audio
Online access to over 85,000 tracks from over 5,500 recordings in classical music, jazz, folk music, and world music. The offerings may be browsed by genre or by such categories as chamber music, composers, film music, opera, etc. or searched using the advanced search screen. Please consult the User Instructions. If prompted for a login, use GCCUNY01 as both user name and password. Also see Searching for Music Scores and Sound Recordings in CUNY+.
note: 5,500 recordings
NBER: National Bureau of Economic Research Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Some full text
Full text of working papers by over 500 professors. After selecting a title, click on Information for subscribers and others expecting no-cost downloads, and enter your CUNY e-mail address in the form. Access only for those with CUNY e-mail addresses.
note: professors' working papers
NetLibrary Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Some full text
NetLibrary hosts a collection of 2,594 recent scholarly titles as electronic books. These titles represent all disciplines and are aimed at both undergraduate and graduate research needs. While all of CUNY shares a core of NetLibrary titles, several campuses, including the Graduate Center, have purchased additional titles. NetLibrary also provides access to over 3,400 public-domain titles. While no title list is provided within NetLibrary, one can be created by going to CUNY+, limiting the search to the Graduate Center, and performing the keyword search netlibrary. To use NetLibrary from home, you must first connect to the site on any CUNY campus and click on Create a free account. Accounts can also be created by connecting to NetLibrary remotely. Titles may be checked out for only twenty-four hours. Student accounts are purged at the end of each spring semester, necessitating creating new accounts. This brief guide may also be helpful. Several CUNY campuses own NetLibrary titles not available to Graduate Center affiliates. Mac users must download a free PDF browser plug-in for off-campus use. New York Public Library Electronic books are also available from New York Public Library. Links to numerous sources of public-domain books can be found at The Online Books Page. Database Guide (PDF)

note: 2,800+ scholarly books
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Some full text
Over 1,850 articles by more than 1,500 economists.
note: over 1,850 articles
New York Public Library Databases Unrestricted Resource
Holders of New York Public Library cards have access to several bibliographic/full-text databases. Instructions about applying for a library card are available.
note: access with NYPL card
New York Review of Books Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Some full text
All content from 1963 to the present.  Select Print Archive for older issues.

note: 1963 to present
New York State Newspapers Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Some full text
Full text of Binghamton Press & Sun-Bulletin, Buffalo News, New York Observer, New York Post, New York Times, Rochester Democrat and Chronicle, Syracuse Herald-American, Syracuse Herald-Journal, Syracuse Post-Standard, and Westchester Journal News. Also see LexisNexis, New York Times Full Text, and Custom Newspapers.
note: 10 newspapers
New York Times Full Text Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Some full text Resource contains images
Actual page images from 1851 through 2007. The coverage for more recent years will become available later. When the results of a search are displayed, you have three retrieval options: 1. bibliographic citation and abstract; 2. article image (retrieved with Adobe Acrobat Reader); 3. page map, displaying the entire page on which the article appears. The full text of the Times since June 1, 1980, is available from LexisNexis. Database Guide (PDF)

note: 1851-2007
Nineteenth Century Masterfile Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Also known as Poole's Plus, this database includes over eight million citations to periodical articles, books, patents, and American and British government documents before 1925.
note: index of documents before 1925
Nursing Education in Video Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Resource contains video
The Graduate Center has a trial through November 8 to this collection of 260 videos created for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers.
note: trial ends Nov. 8
Nursing Resource Center Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff Some full text
Includes text of more than 20 reference books, over 200 animations from Blausen Medical's Human Atlas, and citations from more than 500 journals.

note: over 20 reference books
NYCdata Unrestricted Resource
Demographic, political, financial, and cultural information.