SAGE Management & Organization Studies Collection
Full text of 40 SAGE journals in management, organization studies, business, human resources, marketing, public policy, public administration, and industrial relations from 1947 to the present. Twenty-one journals are available from their first issues.
note: 40 journals since 1947
SAGE Premier
Full text of 527 SAGE journals in the social sciences, sciences, humanities, technology, and medicine.
note: 527 SAGE Journals
Science Citation Index
Citations in the scholarly literature from 1900 to the present. Those new to this resource should begin with its tutorial. To search only this portion of Web of Science, scroll to bottom of search screen and check only Science Citation Index.
Scopus is a similar citation index.
note: science citations since 1900
ScienceDirect
Full text from 1980 to the present for 1,576 journals and indexing and abstracting of all titles from their first issues. While all titles may be searched, CUNY has full-text access only for those journals to whose print versions either CUNY or SUNY subscribes. The green subscribed-journal icon indicates which are accessible in full text. Most of these journals are in the sciences and social sciences, but there are a few in the humanities, mostly in linguistics. To determine which are available in your discipline, click the Journals button at the top of the search screen. Select Subscribed Journals in the Display box and by Subject in the Sort box. Also see
Scirus: For Scientific Information Only, which searches the Web and ScienceDirect at once.
Database Guide (PDF)note: 1,576 science and social science journals
SciFinder Scholar (Web version for registered users)
Chemical and related scientific information. Requires registration.
See
useful tutorials and
search strategies.
Special note for remote users: after logging in with proxy, please ignore browser warning and click continue, The browser is merely expecting, SSL certificate confirmation.
To disable browser warnings:
IE=>Tools => Internet Options => Advanced Tab => Scroll to the bottom and uncheck “Warn about certificate address mismatch*”
note: Special Note for remote users, click more info link
SciFinder Scholar (Web version for unregistered users)
Chemical and related scientific information. Requires registration.
See
useful tutorials and
search strategies.
Special note for remote users: after logging in with proxy, please ignore browser warning and click continue, The browser is merely expecting, SSL certificate confirmation.
To disable browser warnings:
IE=>Tools => Internet Options => Advanced Tab => Scroll to the bottom and uncheck “Warn about certificate address mismatch*”
note: Special Note for remote users, click more info link
Scirus
Free science search engine includes links to open-access journals.
note: open-access science journals
Scopus
Abstract and citation database indexes 15,000 international peer-reviewed journals in the social sciences, sciences, and medicine from 1996 to the present. A more
detailed description is available, as is a very helpful
tutorial.
Database Guide (PDF)note: Cited reference database
Scribner Writers Online
Reference works about American and British writers. May be searched independently or within Gale Virtual Reference Library or Literature Resources from Gale.
note: American and British writers
Serials Directory
Bibliographic and contact information about over 184,000 U.S. and international periodicals.
note: periodical information
Social Explorer
New York City, Los Angeles, and national demographic maps based on Census data. A companion to
Infoshare.
note: demographic maps
Social Sciences Citation Index
Bibliographic citation, abstract, cited references, and times cited. These records are for articles in major social science journals from 1975 to the present. To search only this portion of Web of Science, scroll to bottom of search screen and check only Social Sciences Citation Index.
Scopus is a similar citation index.
Database Guide (PDF)note: cited references since 1990
Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes English-language periodicals in the social sciences from 1983 to the present. Includes abstracts for articles published beginning January 1994. Includes full text from 250 periodicals.
note: indexes articles since 1983
SocIndex with Full Text
This EBSCO database indexes 2,540 journals in the social sciences, with full text as far back as 1895 for 253 journals, as well as the text for an additional 72 journals, 547 books, and 6,711 American Sociological Association and American Society of Criminology conference papers.
note: journals, books, conference papers
Sociological Abstracts
Bibliographic citations from 2,600 journals concerned with sociology and related disciplines from 1963 to the present.
note: indexes 2,600 journals
Springer eBook Collection
Text of 19,000 Springer books published from 2005 to the present as well as book series dating back to 1997. The titles cover biomedical and life sciences, computer science, medicine, physics, and related fields.
Guidenote: 19,000 books
SpringerLink
Full text of recent issues of 1,234 mostly social science and science journals.. Only the articles with the green-box symbol are available in full text. While the default search screen is Articles by citation, choose the Articles by text tab for most searches. SpringerLink can also be found at Baruch, Bronx Community College, Brooklyn, City College, Hunter, John Jay, Lehman, Queens, and Staten Island.
note: 1,234 science & social science journals
SpringerProtocols
The Graduate Center has a trial of this resource providing more than 22,000 peer-reviewed life sciences protocols.
note: more than 22,000 protocols
Statistics Sources
Content of the 2010 edition. Guide to current sources of factual quantitative information about more than 20,000 specific subjects, incorporating almost 135,000 citations and more than 1,600 sources. Provides the widest possible range of print and nonprint, published and unpublished, and electronic and other forms of U.S. and international statistical data on industrial, business, social, educational, financial, and other topics.
note: sources of quantitative information