19th Century British Library Newspapers
The Graduate Center has a trial through November 2 to
this collection of full runs of 48 newspapers selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. The collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection. note: trial ends Nov. 2
19th Century Masterfile
Also known as Poole's Plus, this database includes over eight million citations to periodical articles, books, patents, and American and British government documents before 1925.
note: index of documents before 1925
Academic OneFile
Indexes over 12,000 journals and reference sources in all subjects, with text from 5,913 publications. Includes transcripts and audio of NPR (National Public Radio) programs.
note: full text of over 5,900 journals
Academic Search Complete
Interdisciplinary full-text database. Full text of over 8,700 journals, including 7.600 peer-reviewed journals, with indexing for another 4,000 titles. While full text is available as far back as 1887 for a few titles, the text of most titles is available only for the past decade or two. Also includes the text of books, conference papers, conference proceedings, and educational reports.
Database Guide (PDF)note: text from over 8,700 journals in all disciplines
ACM Digital Library
Provides the full-text of Association for Computing Machinery periodicals and proceedings since 1985.
Online help. note: journals since 1985
AGRICOLA (National Agricultural Library)
Citations to literature created by the National Library of Agriculture and similar institutions. Drawn from 1,400 international journals. Covers materials in all formats, including printed works from the fifteenth century. Useful for researchers in biology and environmental science.
note: free citations to agricultural literature
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Series 1
The Graduate Center has a trial of this resource offering the text of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1820, including original typography, graphics, and drawings. Search all four series by selecting
Choose Databases.
note: trial ends Dec. 2
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Series 2
The Graduate Center has a trial of this resource offering the text of American periodicals published between 1821 and 1837, including original typography, graphics, and drawings. Search all four series by selecting
Choose Databases.
note: trial ends Dec. 2
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Series 3
The Graduate Center has a trial of this resource offering the text of American periodicals published between 1838 and 1852, including original typography, graphics, and drawings. Search all four series by selecting
Choose Databases.
note: trial ends Dec. 2
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Series 4
The Graduate Center has a trial of this resource offering the text of American periodicals published between 1866 and 1867, including original typography, graphics, and drawings. Search all four series by selecting
Choose Databases.
note: trial ends Dec. 2
L' Annee philologique
French classics journal from 1949 through 2006. Earlier issues will be added eventually.
note: French classics journal
Annual Reviews
Full text of 38 Annual Reviews in the social sciences, biomedical sciences, and physical sciences from 1996 to the present. Earlier years of the Annual Reviews of Anthropology, Ecology and Systematics, and Sociology are available from JSTOR. Earlier years of the Annual Reviews of Genetics and Psychology are available from Academic Search Premier. Earlier years of Annual Review of Microbiology are available from Health Reference Center.
note: all 38 titles
Anthropological Index Online
AIO indexes current periodicals in the British Museum's Anthropology Library from 1957 to the present.
note: free index of journals
AnthroSource
Archive of 54 American Anthropological Association journals through 2003 and current issues of 15 journals.
note: American Anthropological Association journals
Applied Science Abstracts
Indexes 350 international and English-language periodicals in mathematics, physics, computer technology, and engineering from October 1983 to the present. Searchable in English, French, and Spanish.
note: indexes 350 journals
Aristotle Bibliography
Bibliography of more than 50,000 books, articles, book reviews, and disserations dealing with Aristotle and related topics from 1900 to the present.
note: citations since 1900
Art Full Text
The full-text version of Art Index indexes 460 journals, providing the full text of many beginning with 1997. In addition to art history and architecture titles, many film journals are included. A list of available titles can be generated by going here and selecting Journal Directory.
Database Guide (PDF)note: full text version of Art Index
Art Museum Image Gallery
Offers over 155,000 images from museum collections around the world. There are also bibliographic records, many with curatorial text, provenance data, detailed or multiple views, and related multimedia.
note: 155,000 images from museum collections
Art Retrospective
Index of art periodicals from 1929 to 1984.
note: indexes art periodicals from 1929 to 1984
ARTFL Project
Over 2,600 French literary texts from the University of Chicago. The New York Public Library offers a more complete version of ARTFL texts online.
note: French literary texts
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Part of Web of Science, this database finds bibliographic citations, abstracts, cited references, and the number of times cited for articles from 1,160 international journals in the arts and humanities since 1975 as well as relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journal. Approximately 2,300 new records containing 15,525 new references are added each week. To search only this portion of Web of Science, scroll to bottom of search screen and check only Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Scopus is a similar citation index emphasizing the sciences and social sciences, with some humanities coverage.
note: cited references since 1975
ARTstor
Nearly one million images of art and architecture.
Online help.note: one million images
Auction Catalogs
The Graduate Center has a trial through December 31, 2011, to over 1,500 digitized auction catalogs from the collections of the Frick Art Reference Library and the Thomas J. Watson Library at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. The digitized catalogs date from the 18th through early 20th centuries.
note: trial ends December 31, 2011
Avery Index of Architectural Periodicals
Indexes 2,800 international journals from 1741 to the present, covering architecture, archaeology, historic preservation, interior design, urban design, and urban planning.
note: indexes 2,800 international journals
Bibliography of English Women Writers 1500-1640
Primary and secondary sources, as well as manuscript locations, for 180 women writers. Includes bibliographies, catalogs, contextual studies, reference works, essay anthologies, special issues of journals, genre studies, handbooks and pedagogical tools, compilations containing texts, and dissertations.
note: primary and secondary sources
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Newly hosted by the Getty, the BHA indexes over 4,800 journals and other publications from 1973 to the present, covering the art of Europe and the Americas from the fourth century to the present, painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, decorative and applied arts, popular and folk art, architecture and industrial design, and film. The database includes the International Bibliography of Art (IBA), covering 2008 and part of 2009. the Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA), on of the predecessors of BHA with records 1975-1989, will be online May 1.
note: indexes over 4,800 journals
Biography Reference Bank
Biographical information about over 550,000 people. Includes 380,000 periodical articles and more than 36,000 images. Over 80,00 profiles from reference works published by Garland, Greenwood, Harvard University Press, Houghton Mifflin, Oryx, Oxford University Press, and H. W. Wilson. There are 5,000 biographies from the 2004 edition of the American National Biography. A
complete list of such sources is available.
note: 550,000 biographies
BioMed Central
Open-access journals in biology and medicine. As of 2011, 212 titles are available.
note: 212 journals
Black Drama
Includes 1,462 plays by 233 playwrights. Includes information about productions, theaters, theater companies, playbills, photographs, and more.
note: 1,462 plays and more
Black Thought and Culture: African Americans from Colonial Times to the Present
Over 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, speeches, letters, and interviews. The 1,100 figures covered, when the database is complete, will include James Baldwin, Amiri Baraka, Ralph Bunche, Angela Davis, Frederick Douglass, W. E. B. Du Bois, Ralph Ellison, Marcus Garvey, Langston Hughes, Zora Neale Hurston, Martin Luther King, Jr., Malcolm X, Thurgood Marshall, Huey Newton, Jackie Robinson, Paul Robeson, Bobby Seale, Booker T. Washington, Cornel West, and Richard Wright.
note: monographs, essays, etc.
Book Review Digest
Provides excerpts from reviews of fiction and nonfiction in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and popular topics published in English since 1983. Full text from a core of 45 periodicals, with additional text from other Wilson databases. Textbooks, government publications, and technical books in law and the sciences are not included. Also see
Finding Book Reviews.
note: excerpts from reviews
Books in Print
Books in and out of print in all languages from publishers around the world.
note: books in all languages from around the world
Business Source Complete
Full text of over 3,200 scholarly business journals and periodicals as well as indexing for 800 more titles. Also includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, and company profiles.
note: over 3,200 periodicals
Cambridge Histories Online
Full text of 250 Cambridge University Press reference works published since 1960. In addition to history, these titles cover economics, the history of science, the history of the book, language and linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, political and social theory, religion, theatre and performing arts, and warfare.
note: 250 reference works
Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources from a global network of sources. Most of the materials acquired are from outside the United States, and many are from the emerging regions of the world: Africa, the Middle East, Southeast Asia, South Asia, and Latin America. CRL provides students, faculty, and other researchers liberal access to these rich source materials through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery. CRL loan and electronic delivery services are designed to support major research projects, the production of scholarly monographs and studies, dissertations, and graduate and advanced undergraduate seminars.
note: catalog of international research resources
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Full text of 15th edition available online to GC affiliates only. Includes quick guide, questions and answers, and additional tools.
note: text of 15th ed.
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Full text of recent issues of 46 international affairs journals, as well as case studies and working papers. Abstracts only for additional journals. Access from home requires registering for CIAO access while at the Graduate Center.
note: 46 international affairs journals
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Indexing for 3,001 journals in nursing and allied health, with full text for 750 journals and 220 books. See this
online tutorial to learn expert search techniques.
note: nursing & health journals
Cinema Image Gallery
200,000 images from the Kobal Collection. Includes film and television stills, on-set shots of actors and directors, set and costume designs, posters, etc.
note: 200,000 film images
Cochrane Library
Collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane reviews provide evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. In addition to Cochrane reviews, the Cochrane Library provides other sources of reliable information: review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials.
note: healthcare resources
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Includes the full text of over 325 journals in communications and media, as well as citations from several hundred additional titles. To determine its usefulness for a wide range of topics in the humanities and social sciences, consult the publications list within the database.
note: over 325 journals
Computing Reviews
Reviews of books and journal articles covering all aspects of computing. Affiliated with the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).
note: reviews of books and articles
COS Funding Opportunities
Grants, internships, graduate and post-graduate fellowships in all subject areas. Search by keyword; set alerts for relevant opportunites.
note: grants, fellowships, internships
CQ Researcher
Full-text reports from 1991 to the present on education, the environment, health, international affairs, technology, the U.S. economy, and other political and social issues. Each 12,000-word report includes bibliographies, maps, tables, and pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions.
note: reports on international affairs, etc.
CUNY Libraries Catalog
The CUNY+ Catalog contains the holdings of the entire CUNY library system. Use to request circulating books from other CUNY libraries through
CLICS.
note: holdings of all CUNY libraries
Custom Newspapers
Full text of 565 national and international newspapers. A list of available titles can be found by entering the database and clicking the browse button. Also see LexisNexis.
note: 565 newspapers
Digital Dissertations/Abstracts and Full Text
Indexes two-million dissertations from over one-thousand institutions, with citations from 1861-1980 and abstracts from 1980+. Includes the full text of most CUNY dissertations and post-1997 dissertations from other institutions.
Database Guide (PDF)note: citations, abstracts, recent text
Ebook Library (EBL)
EBL offers electronic books in a variety of subjects. Items in EBL are typically course-reserve readings and are listed in CUNY+ (the catalog of CUNY library holdings). EBL titles are available only to Graduate Center students, faculty, and staff. Downloading these electronic books requires a free download of
Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) software.
Guidenote: electronic books requested for reserve; not available to non-GC patrons
ebrary
Approximately 68,000 electronic books in all disciplines from such publishers as BIOS Scientific Publishers, Brill Academic Publishers, Brookings Institution,Cambridge University Press, Columbia University Press, Cornell University Press,Greenwood Press, Harvard University Press, John Wiley, Johns Hopkins University Press, Kluwer Academic Publishers, Manchester University Press, MIT Press, Oxford University Press, Palgrave-Macmillan, Princeton University Press, Random House, Springer, Stanford University Press, University of California Press, University of Chicago Press, World Bank, and Yale University Press.
GuideYou can also search the
catalog to see if a title is available with ebrary.
note: 68,000 scholarly books
EBSCO eBook Collection
Formerly known as NetLibrary the EBSCO eBook Collection hosts a collection of more than 2,800 recent scholarly titles as electronic books. These titles represent all disciplines and are aimed at both undergraduate and graduate research needs. While all of CUNY shares a core of titles, several campuses, including the Graduate Center, have purchased additional titles. To use the database from home, you must first connect to the site on any CUNY campus and click on Create a free account. Accounts can also be created by connecting to to the database remotely. Titles may be checked out for only twenty-four hours. All available titles also appear in the
CUNY Catalog.
note: more than 2,800 electronic books
EconLit
Bibliographic citations of articles from over 750 international journals from 1969 to the present and abstracts of many articles beginning with 1987. Some books, dissertations, conference proceedings, etc. are also indexed.
Database Guide (PDF)note: indexes 750 journals
Education Full Text
Abstracts of articles from over 600 publications since June 1983 and full text of articles from over 350 publications, many beginning with 1996.
note: over 200 journals
Education Index Retrospective
Indexes 500 education periodicals from 1929 through 1983. This database may be searched in conjunction with
Education Full Text, which includes articles from recent issues of 350 periodicals.
note: citations 1929-1983
Education Research Complete
Includes full text of nearly 1,200 journals and more than 500 books and monographs. Includes indexing for an additional 1,000 journals.
note: 1,700 journals and books
Eighteenth Century Collection Online (ECCO)
ECCO offers every page of 150,000 books published during the eighteenth century in English, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Spanish, and Welsh. In addition to searches by author, title, and publisher, these books may be searched by individual categories such as fine arts, history and geography, law, literature and language, medicine, science, and technology, religion and philosophy, social sciences, general reference, or a combination of two or more subjects. Illustrated works may be searched by cartoon, map, music, portrait, etc. ECCO may also be browsed by author and title.
note: over 150,000 books
EJS
Full text of over 99 scholarly journals not available from other resources. This product is not related to the other EBSCO databases such as Academic Search Complete.
note: 99 journals
Empire Online
The Graduate Center has a trial through October 20 to this collection of primary materials related to British colonialism from 1492 to 2007.
note: trial ends Oct. 20
Encyclopaedia Islamica
Guide to important themes, subjects, and personages related to Islam. Because Encyclopaedia Islamica is in its early stages of development, only entries beginning with
A are available.
note: themes, etc. related to Islam
Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an
The Qur'an is the primary religious text for one-sixth of the world’s population. Understood by Muslims to contain God's own words, it has been an object of reverence and of intense study for centuries. The thousands of volumes that Muslim scholars have devoted to qur'anic interpretation and to the linguistic, rhetorical and narrative analysis of the text are sufficient to create entire libraries of qur'anic studies. Drawing upon a rich scholarly heritage, Brill's
Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an (EQ) combines alphabetically-arranged articles about the contents of the Qur'an. It is an encyclopaedic dictionary of Qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within Qur'anic studies. With nearly 1000 entries in 5 volumes, the EQ is the first comprehensive, multi-volume reference work on the Qur'an to appear in a Western language.
note: religious text
Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics
EALL Online comprehensively covers all aspects of Arabic languages and linguistics. It is interdisciplinary in scope and represents different schools and approaches to be as objective and versatile as possible.
note: interdisciplinary resource
Encyclopedia of Islam
Complete text of the second and third editions of this reference work.
note: second and third editions
Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences
Complete text of first and second editions and all supplements. Revisions and new articles added quarterly. Use the Search This Title box to search only this resource. Use the Search Wiley InterScience to search it along with the Wiley journals to which the library has access.
note: first and second editions
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures
The EWIC is an interdisciplinary, transhistorical, and global project. It brings together upwards of 1,000 scholars to write critical essays on women, Muslim and non-Muslim, and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. It aims to cover every topic for which there is significant research, examining these regions from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present. EWIC hopes both to offer the state of the art in the broad sweep of topics to inform the general audience and to take on cutting-edge issues to stimulate new research in new terrains.
note: women and Islamic culture
EndNote
Citation software licensed for CUNY Graduate Center affiliates to download and install on PC or Mac desktops. Generates footnotes and bibliographies in any writing style; manages citations and notes in a private library.
Endnote tutorials and online classes.
Endnote help sheets.
note: GC users download free
EndNote Web
This online companion to EndNote allows citation gathering from anywhere. Generates footnotes and bibliographies in any writing style; manages citations and notes in a private library. Complements Endnote on your desktop; allows shared access to your citations. Access limited to Graduate Center affiliates.
Endnote tutorials and online classes.
Endnote help sheets.
note: online citation management
ERIC (EBSCO version)
ERIC provides bibliographic citations from over 600 education journals from 1966 to the present. ERIC documents, those with ED, not EJ, numbers, are available on microfiche on the second floor of the library from ED 000001 through ED 462533. Other ERIC documents may be available at the government's
ERIC site.
Database Guide (PDF).note: indexes education resources
Essay & General Literature Index
Contains citations to essays in collections of mostly scholarly works and miscellaneous works published since 1984 in the United States, Canada, and the United Kingdom. More than 300 volumes are indexed annually. While there are no abstracts, complete contents of the volumes are listed. An extremely useful resource for all disciplines because it indexes sources not covered elsewhere.
note: indexes essay collections
Ethnic NewsWatch
A full-text database for American ethnic newspapers, magazines, and journals in English and Spanish.
note: American ethnic newspapers, etc.
Europa World Online
Political and economic information about over 250 countries and territories.
note: political and economic information
European Views of the Americas, 1493-1750
Bibliographic guide to European works related to the America. Based upon the authoritative bibliography “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750."
note: bibliographic guide
Fiction Connection
Books in Print database for finding fiction by topic, genre, setting, character, location, and time.
note: fiction by topic, genre, etc.
Film Literature Index
Indexes all the content of 150 film and television journals from 30 countries and selectively indexes 200 additional periodicals. Includes 700,000 citations of articles, film reviews, and book reviews from 1976-2001. This resource is not being updated. Also see
Searching for DVDs and Videocassettes in CUNY+.
note: free 1976-2001 index
Foundation Directory Online
Information about 20,000 large and mid-sized U.S. foundations and files for more than half-a-million grants. The Trustees, Officers, and Donors search field and its corresponding index allow users to search over 110,000 trustee, officer and donor names.
note: covers 20,000 foundations
Foundation Grants to Individuals Online
Search for scholarships, fellowships, grants, awards, and other financial support for individuals, with more than 6,100 entries, updated quarterly., including detailed descriptions of approximately 2,000 programs which fund individual grant seekers. Accessible only in library. Users must ask reference librarian to log them in.
note: financial-support sources
Full-Text Journals
Alphabetical list of over 35,000 journal, magazine, newspaper, and newsletter titles available in full text to the Graduate Center community. Many are also available throughout CUNY.
note: over 35,000 sources
Gale News Vault
The Graduate Center has a trial through October 13 to the archives of several British newspapers from the seventeenth century to the present and to nineteenth-century American newspapers. Includes the Times Literary Supplement and the Financial Times. Can be searched with the Economist and the London Illustrated News.
note: trial ends Oct. 13
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Full text of 275 reference books published by Gale, Brill Academic, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Sage, Salem Press, Wiley, and others. Titles include American Civil War Reference Library, Ancient Europe, 8000 BC to AD 1000, Encyclopedia of Aging, Encyclopedia of American Religions, Encyclopedia of Case Study Research, Encyclopedia of Gender and Society, Encyclopedia of Urban Studies, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History, Magill's Survey of World Literature, Vietnam War Reference Library; World Education Encyclopedia.
note: 275 reference books
Gartner
Gartner provides reports analyzing information technology products and markets, including ranking vendors and explaining how IT is affected by government regulations here and abroad. CUNY does not have access to all Gartner reports. Use the advanced search to access only those available to CUNY. Gartner can be accessed only through the
CUNY Portal.
note: information-technology reports
General OneFile
Indexes over 12,000 periodicals, newspapers, reference books, and multimedia sources, with full text from 7,670 publications.
note: full text of over 7,600 publications
General Science Full Text
Indexes scholarly, professional, and popular science periodicals published from 1984 to the present in the United States and the United Kingdom. Includes text for 105 publications from 1994 to present.
note: indexes journals since 1984
Global Books in Print
Books in and out of print in all languages from publishers around the world.
note: books in all languages from around the world
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to search broadly for scholarly literature. Follow our simple
setup instructions to integrate the GC Find-it service with Google Scholar. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities, and other scholarly organizations. Includes links to resources to which the Graduate Center subscribes.
note: Google's academic search engine
GreenFile
Global warming, energy conservation, natural resources, and pollution are among the issues addressed by this bibliographic database.
note: Environmental resources
Grolier Reference Online
Includes American Language Dictionary of the English Language, 4th ed., American Heritage Spanish to English Dictionary, American Heritage English to Spanish Dictionary, Roget's II: The New Thesaurus, 3rd ed., and Encyclopedia Americana.
note: encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases
Grove Art
Electronic version of Grove's The Dictionary of Art. Also includes The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and 100,000 images from the Bridgeman Art Library. The 34 volumes of the text edition of Grove Art are available in the library's reference collection under Ref. N31.D5 1996.
Database Guide (PDF).note: art dictionary
Grove Music
Online version of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition. Also includes The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. The 29 volumes of the text edition are available in the library's reference collection under Ref. ML100.N48 2001. Grove Music also includes the contents of The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz and The New Grove Dictionary of Opera. A guide to the database is available.
Database Guide (PDF).
Searching for Music Scores and Sound Recordings in CUNY+. note: music dictionary
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Indexes Latin American economic, political, and social issues as well as arts and letters from 1970 to the present, providing citations of articles from more than 600 journals.
note: indexes over 600 journals
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Full text from over 550 scholarly medical journals and abstracts for additional titles. Includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, covering 1,300 generic-drug, patient-education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
note: 550 medical journals
HighWire Press
HighWire Press, the Internet imprint of Stanford University Libraries, offers free access to over 1,900,000 full-text articles from scientific, medical, and psychiatric journals. Not all of HighWire Press's content is free.
note: some free scientific text
Humanities Full Text
Includes abstracts of articles published in English from 1984 to the present in all fields of the humanities. Includes text from 287 periodicals.
note: indexes journals since 1984
Humanities International Complete
Indexes over 2,100 humanities sources, including journals, books, and reference works, with full text of 890 journals. In addition to articles and reviews, the database provides abstracts of fiction, poetry, photographs, and drawings.
note: 890 journals
Index to Current Urban Documents
Guide to the reports and research generated by local government agencies, civic organizations, academic and research organizations, public libraries, and metropolitan and regional planning agencies in approximately five-hundred selected cities in the United States and Canada. Over 2,400 documents indexed annually.
note: guide to governmental reports
Infoshare
Demographic information about New York City drawn from city, state, and federal sources. Also includes some national statistics. Use the raw data to create customized tables. The information in Infoshare is supplemented by many free Web sites, including
National Priorities Project Database, which provides a range of statistics relating to labor, poverty, and social programs by state.
note: New York City demographics
International Financial Statistics (IMF)
Standard source of international statistics compiled by the International Monetary Fund on all aspects of international and domestic finance. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation. The Web interface allows subscribers to browse the database, select series of interest, display the selected series in a spreadsheet format, and save the selected series for transfer to other software systems such as Excel. Subscription paid by Student Technology Fee.
note: IMF statistics
Internet Archive
Large-scale archive of the Web since 1997.
note: archive of the web
Iter Bibliography
Indexes 1,707 journals published since 1784, over 96,000 books, over 190,000 essays from over 7,300 books, and over 1,500 dissertations since 1990 about the middle ages and renaissance. Bibliography contains more than 1,010,000 records. Find it! does not work with this resource. To see possible links to full text in Iter Bibliography, select the Full Details of a record and then the Check for full text box.
note: secondary medieval and renaissance bibliography
Iter Italicum
Bibliography of previously uncatalogued or incompletely cataloged Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world. Originally published in six volumes between 1963 and 1992.
note: bibliography of Renaissance manuscripts
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Graduate Center's subscription includes Iter Bibliography, Iter Italicum, Milton Bibliography, the journals Early Theatre and Renaissance and Reformation, and the forthcoming Bibliography of English Women Writers, 1500-1640 and Baptisteria Sacra. Find it! does not work with these resources. To see possible links to full text in Iter Bibliography, select the Full Details of a record and then the Check for full text box.
note: bibliographies
JAMA
The online edition of JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association includes the complete full text of all issues since January 1998, selected text from May 1992 through December 1997, tables of contents and abstracts only from January 1975 to May 1992, and tables of contents only from January 1966 through December 1974. Select Collections to browse through articles on such topics as aging/geriatrics, dentistry, dermatology, etc. and to register for e-mail alerts when new articles on topics of interest become available.
note: all issues since 1997
Jewish Life in America, 1654-1954
The Graduate Center has a trial through October 20 to this collection of documents, images, and maps from the American Jewish Historical Society.
note: trial ends Oct. 20
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Almost 300 entries on critics, theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. Updated annually.
note: full text of reference work
Journal Citation Reports
The number of articles published in journals indexed by the Web of Science and the number of citations to individual journals. This information may be viewed by journal name, subject, publisher, and country or territory. Be sure to choose science or social sciences before selecting a subject. Statistics are currently available for 2007 and 2008.
note: Web of Science citation statistics
JSTOR
The Arts and Sciences I-IX collections of JSTOR offer the full text of 1,729 scholarly journals including African studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, classical studies, ecology, economics, education, feminist and women's studies, film studies, folklore, geography, history, , language, literature, Middle East studies, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, sociology. Coverage begins with the first issue of almost every journal and continues through
varying periods within the last five years. Click
here for a list of the journals by subject and the available dates. Click
here for an alphabetical list. Using JSTOR with such citation-management tools as
EndNote and
RefWorks requires creating a
MyJSTOR account.
Database Guide (PDF)note: 1,729 scholarly journals