New Resource: Penn Corpora of Historical English (PPCHE)

The Graduate Center now has access to the Penn Corpora of Historical English (PPCHE), including the Penn-Helsinki Parsed Corpus of Middle English, second edition (PPCME2), the Penn-Helsinki Parsed Corpus of Early Modern English (PPCEME), and the Penn Parsed Corpus of Modern British English (PPCMBE), are running texts and text samples of British English prose across . . . → Read More: New Resource: Penn Corpora of Historical English (PPCHE)

Trial: Global Issues in Context

All of CUNY has a one year trial to Gale’s Global Issues in Context. This resource includes “background information and explanations of the impact of issues and events, expert perspectives analyzing issues from cultural, religious, political, social, economic, scientific and health standpoints, full-text international magazines, academic journals and news sources, primary sources (such as legislation . . . → Read More: Trial: Global Issues in Context

Trial: Accessible Archives

The Graduate Center has a short trial for Accessible Archives, just through October 6. This resource collects many historic, primary source newspapers and periodicals, such as an African American Newspapers, Civil War publications, early women’s periodicals and materials published by Frederick Douglass, Harriet Tubman, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Susan B. Anthony and many more.

Please let . . . → Read More: Trial: Accessible Archives

Articles & Journals Webinar Video

The library provided its second webinar for the Fall 2012 semester today, Friday, Sept. 21st at 12.30 p.m.

The Journals, Articles, & Databases Demystified webinar discussed how to go from an index to full-text articles, deciphering citations to find articles, how to find journals quickly, and library services such as interlibrary loan. There was also . . . → Read More: Articles & Journals Webinar Video

Articles & Journals Webinar Friday @ 12:30

What: The library is offering a 30 minute webinar!When: Friday, Sept. 21 at 12.30 p.m.Topic: Journals, Articles & Databases DemystifiedWhere: ONLINE! At your computer, with headphones or speakers.

Discussion will include the difference between a database and a journal, finding an article with just a citation, determining access to articles, and more. There will . . . → Read More: Articles & Journals Webinar Friday @ 12:30